Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award

To recognise teaching excellence and the impact great teachers have on their students, Nanyang Technological University (NTU) initiated the "University Scholars Award", first presented to the graduating class of Academic Year 2006/2007. This award was renamed the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award in 2010 in recognition of the generous gift to the University from Mr Koh Boon Hwee, the former Chairman of NTU's Board of Trustees.  Together with the Singapore Government's dollar-for-dollar matching contribution, the gift established an endowment fund that supports the award.

The Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award seeks to recognise the accomplishments of our exceptionally talented graduating students, who display strong leadership ability and have demonstrated great potential to contribute to the society. The award also allows the students to honour their nominated teachers (a teacher from their former junior college, polytechnic, or equivalent institution) and university faculty members for their dedication and contributions in inspiring and providing youths with an outstanding holistic education. 

These teachers and NTU faculty members are honoured at the NTU Convocation.  The teachers are also recognised for their inspirational teaching by having individual S$5,000 cash grants established in their names.  Each honoured teacher can nominate a student from their junior colleges, polytechnics or equivalent institutions to receive the S$5,000 grant upon admission to NTU. 


[The Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award recipients for 2024 will be updated soon.]