Published on 19 Oct 2019

Building and road at NTU campus named after Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan and Mr Tan Lark Sye

The College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences building is named the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan Building while Nanyang Valley is renamed after Mr Tan, who founded the former Nanyang University

To mark the contributions of the pioneers in Singapore’s education journey, the building that houses the College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (CoHASS) at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore) will be named the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) Building. In addition, Nanyang Valley will be renamed the Tan Lark Sye Walk.

A plaque unveiling ceremony was held at the CoHASS building to commemorate the naming. Joining Mr Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Education, at the ceremony were Professor Subra Suresh, NTU President; Dr Chua Thian Poh, SHHK Immediate Past President; Mr Tan Cheng Gay, SHHK President, plus guests and attendees.

Professor Subra Suresh, NTU President, said: “The naming of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan building and Tan Lark Sye Walk acknowledge the historic contribution of our local communities towards Singapore’s tertiary education development. Their legacy should not be forgotten by future generations of Singaporeans, even as we revel in the progress that Singapore has made in her education journey, with two top-ranked universities that are among the world's best, and a strong research, innovation and education ecosystem that is the envy of the world, and that other countries aspire to emulate.”

Related media releases

Media coverage