Singapore Universities Student Exchange Programme (SUSEP - Inbound)

SUSEP Inbound

Young and research-intensive, NTU is placed 19th globally, and 1st among the world’s best young universities for five consecutive years (QS university rankings). SUSEP is a reciprocal arrangement between local partner universities which offers students the opportunity to participate in a semester-long exchange programme at NTU. Through SUSEP, students can take selected courses and experience student life at NTU, while concurrently pursuing their degree programme in their home university.

NTU is proud to partner with the following universities to offer SUSEP:

SUSEP (Undergraduate) Partner UniversitiesSUSEP (PhD) Partner Universities
National University of Singapore (NUS)National University of Singapore (NUS)
Singapore Management University (SMU)
Singapore Management University (SMU)
Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS) 
Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD)
Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT) 


The information on this page applies to SUSEP (Undergraduate) only. For information about SUSEP (PhD), visit the NTU-SUSEP (PhD) webpage.

The following options are available for students participating in the programme: 

  • Partial Exchange
    Take at least one NTU course and the remaining in your home university.

  • Full Exchange
    Do one semester of studies of approved courses entirely at NTU.

Exchange students are not allowed to take restricted programmes and courses. These include:

  • All courses from our five autonomous institutions:
    • National Institute of Education (Only NIE general electives are available for exchange students)
    • S Rajaratnam School of International Studies
    • Earth Observatory of Singapore
    • Singapore Centre on Environmental Life Sciences Engineering
    • Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine
  • All courses offered by School of Computer Science and Engineering (SCSE)
  • Entrepreneurship courses offered by the Nanyang Technopreneurship Center
  • Graduate Programmes offered by the Nanyang Business School
  • Exchange Students are not allowed to attend Special Terms

Restricted Courses

Applicants should be aware that we do not entertain appeals for restricted courses/programs.

Students may no longer select/apply for NTU's School of Computer Science and Engineering (SCSE) courses (course codes begining with SC, CZ, and CE) in AY22/23 Semester 2 and beyond due to capacity limits, until further notice. Depending on your requirements, you may be able to find suitable alternatives offered under our other five Engineering Schools instead.

Use the resources below to construct your course plan.

  • Refer to  Content of Courses to view the courses offered in the past academic years.
    Updated course information for Semester 1 and 2 shall only be available towards May and November, respectively.
  • Check the Course Restrictions. Some courses are not offered to exchange students.
  • Ensure that you meet the equivalent course prerequisites, if any.
  • Consult your academic advisor about your course selections and seek approval for your study plan. 

We seek your understanding that approval of courses is up to each School’s discretion. It is also worth noting that popular courses are highly competitive, making it difficult to secure placement. Courses are never guaranteed for students. For this reason, we advise students to be flexible with their study plan.

NTU will not collect tuition and insurance fees from SUSEP students nominated by NTU's partner universities, since these are paid to their home universities. SUSEP students are only required to pay NTU's Compulsory Miscellaneous Fees:

Compulsory Miscellaneous Fees for SUSEP students (Full-Time)

Resident status​Per Semester (incl. of GST)*
​Singapore Citizens​$115.96
Singapore Permanent Residents / International Students ​​S$136.15

* Fees are charged accoding to prevailaing rates and are subject to changes without notice. (NTU  Miscelleanous Fees)

Other expenses
Below are some of the additional expenses students may expect over the duration of their study at NTU:

  • Accommodation**
  • Meals, transport, and other personal expenses
  • Use of non-academic or non-obligatory facilities, services and functions at NTU
  • Other expenses

** Students on local exchange are not eligible for on-campus accommodation.

IntakeApplication deadline*Application outcomeReceive transcripts**
Semester 1AprilAbout 4-6 weeks after the application deadlineWithin two months of the release of examination results
Semester 2October

* Indicative only; refer to the latest Information Sheet for the most up-to-date information.
** Hardcopy transcripts will be mailed to your home university. NTU does not issue digital transcripts to exchange students.

Upon successful nomination by your home institution, you will receive an email containing the application link and instructions.

Note:  We do not accept direct applications. Only students who are nominated by SUSEP partner universities are eligible to apply to the programme.

Submitting your particulars in accordance with our requirements will minimize unnecessary delays in the processing of your application.

  1. Read the Information Sheet to get an overview of the programme.
  2. Shortlist NTU courses (refer to Academic Matters tab)
  3. Check that your documents are in order. Unofficial documents will be rejected.
  4. Complete the NTU online application form

Mandatory Documents

  • Transcripts
    To be submitted in ONE file, in PDF format:
    • Official transcript (signed by the Registrar and stamped with the home university’s seal)
    • List of courses taken in current semester (if not shown in transcript)

Do NOT submit: examination results, unofficial transcripts, transcripts without a signature and stamp, or other unofficial documents.

  • Passport-sized ID photo
    • Clear, coloured passport-sized ID photo taken recently in JPG format, <100kb
    • Check photo guidelines (note: these guidelines must be strictly adhered to)
    • Photos taken of photographic images will be rejected

  • IC or Passport scan
    • Clear, coloured, scanned copy of your IC/passport bio-data page in JPG format, <200kb

      Contact us

      Email: [email protected]

      Mailing Address:
      Nanyang Technological University
      Student and Academic Services Department
      Office Global Education and Mobility
      Student Services Centre, Level 1
      42 Nanyang Avenue, Singapore 639815
      Show location

      Operating hours: Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm (Closed on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays)