Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award 


To nurture, enhance and recognise teaching excellence and the impact that great teachers have on their students, NTU initiated the “University Scholars Award” with the graduating class of 2007. In 2010, the University Scholars Award was renamed the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award in recognition of Mr Koh Boon Hwee's personal gift of $2.5 million to the University. Mr Koh is Chairman of NTU's Board of Trustees. Together with the Singapore Government's dollar-for-dollar matching, the gift established a $5 million endowment fund that will support the award.

This award gives recognition to the influence of inspirational teaching, and the enduring bonds that are forged between teachers and students. It aims to establish long-lasting and fulfilling relationships between the University, the students and their teachers.


Top NTU students who win this award will have achieved excellent academic performance, displayed strong leadership ability and demonstrated potential for contributing to society. Each winner will acknowledge an NTU faculty member and a teacher from his/her former junior college, polytechnic, or equivalent institution, who has inspired and contributed significantly to his/her education.

The teachers and NTU faculty members will be honoured at the NTU Convocation. The teachers will also be recognised for their inspirational teaching with cash grant each to be established in their names. Each honoured teacher will nominate a student from his/her junior college, polytechnic or equivalent institution to receive the grant upon admission to NTU.​​​​