NIE Council

The NIE Council is the governing body of NIE. Its responsibilities are to:

  • Set objectives and provide direction for the Institute;
  • Review, evaluate and approve current programmes and facilities provided by the Institute and to suggest future developments;
  • Assist in the liaison with outside bodies including organisations which have an interest in the Institute;
  • Approve operating and budgetary plans of the Institute; and
  • Appoint working committees or panels to assist the Council in charting out the directions of the Institute.


Composition of the NIE Council (Updated 15 September 2023)



Mr Lai Chung Han

Permanent Secretary (Education)
Ministry of Education

Deputy Chair

Mr Wong Siew Hoong

Ministry of Education



Prof Christine Goh

Prof Christine Goh (Ex-officio)

National Institute of Education


Mrs Chua-Lim Yen Ching

Deputy Director-General of Education (Professional Development)
Ministry of Education


Mr Kok Ping Soon

Chief Executive Officer
Singapore Business Federation


Mr Tan Chin Hwee

CEO, Asia Pacific
Trafigura Pte Ltd


Prof Tan Ooi Kiang

Deputy Provost (Education)
Nanyang Technological University


Mr James Wong

Mr James Wong

Deputy Secretary (Services) / Group Director HR
Ministry of Education


Prof Lily Kong

Singapore Management University

Prof Andrew Brown

Emeritus Professor of Education and Society
Institute of Education
University College London