Published on 18 Jan 2022

SPMS Teaching Excellence Award 2021


Nine outstanding faculty members from the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) were presented with the SPMS Teaching Excellence Award at a ceremony on 13 January 2022.

Established in 2006, the SPMS Teaching Excellence Award recognizes faculty members who conduct their classes in creative and innovative ways. The awards are nominated and voted on by fellow faculty members.

Three awards are given out for each division: Best Large Class for faculty members teaching a class of more than fifty students with exceptional positive feedback from students; Best Student Feedback for faculty members based on comments from students; and Best Innovation in Teaching for faculty members who introduce new approaches to conducting teaching online and offline.

The School congratulates the following winners:


Best Large Class

Asst Prof Qiao Yuan (CBC)
Assoc Prof Ng Keng Meng (MAS)

Assoc Prof S.N Piramanayagam (PAP)

Best Student Feedback
Asst Prof Shingo Ito (CBC)
Assoc Prof Bei Xiaohui (MAS)

Dr Ho Shen Yong (PAP)

Best Innovation in Teaching
Assoc Prof Leong Weng Kee (CBC)
Assoc Prof Andrew James Kricker (MAS)
Asst Prof Marco Battiato (PAP)