Faculty Awards

The following awards have been received by the faculty members of the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences in recognition of their accomplishments in research, education, and service.

National and International Awards

Nikolay Zheludev,
Chong Yidong, and
Zhang Baile
2020President's Science Award
Fedor Duzhin
2020John Cheung Social Media Award​
​Xiong Qihua ​2020 ​Fellow of the Optical Society
​Ranjan Singh ​2019 ​Fellow of the Optical Society
​Cesare Soci ​2018 ​Fellow of The Optical Society
Nikolay Zheludev 2018 Fellow of the Royal Society
Gao Weibo 2017 Young Scientist Award (Singapore National Academy of Science)
Justin C. W. Song 2017 Young Scientist Award (Singapore National Academy of Science)
Zhang Baile 2015 World Scientific Award (Institute of Physics Singapore)
Xiong Qihua 2015 Nanotechnology Physics Award (Institute of Physics Singapore)
Timothy Liew 2015 Discovery International Award
Nikolay Zheludev 2015 Young Medal and Prize
Fan Hongjin 2015 Nanotechnology Physics Award (Institute of Physics Singapore)
Claus Dieter Ohl 2015 Gallery of Fluid Motion Award (American Physical Society)
Alfred Huan 2015 President's Award (Institute of Physics Singapore)
Ling San 2014 Fellow of the Singapore National Academy of Science
Zhang Baile 2014 Young Scientist Award (Singapore National Academy of Science)
Ling San 2013 National Day Honours by the President of the Republic of Singapore: Public Administration Medal (Silver).
Zhang Baile 2013 TED Fellow
Zhang Baile 2012 TR35@Singapore Award
Cesare Soci 2010 ProSPER.NET-Scopus Young Scientist Award
Fan Hongjin 2009 ProSPER.NET-Scopus Young Scientist Award
Tai Xue-Cheng 2009 Feng Kang Prize in Scientific Computing
Yu Ting 2009 Young Scientist Award (Singapore National Academy of Science)

National Research Foundation Fellowships and Investigatorships

Awarded by the National Research Foundation (NRF), the NRF Fellowship (NRFF) is a competitive research grant for early career researchers to carry out high impact, independent research in Singapore. The NRF Investigatorship (NRFI) is a grant for established Principal Investigators who have a track record of research achievements and are leaders in their field.

Chang Quoqing2021NRFF
Philip Harms2021NRFF
Yang Bo2020NRFF
Qiao Yuan2020NRFF
Atsushi Goto2019NRFI
Zhao Yanli2018NRFI
Sum Tze Chien 2018 NRFI
Phan Anh Tuân 2017 NRFI
Bent Weber 2017 NRFF
Robin Chi2016NRFI
Gu Mile 2016 NRFF
Justin Song 2016 NRFF
Christos Panagopoulos 2015 NRFI
Xiong Qihua 2015 NRFI
Gao Weibo 2015 NRFF
Troy Lee 2013 NRFF
Lan Shau-Yu 2013 NRFF
Thomas Peyrin 2012 NRFF
Chong Yidong 2012 NRFF
Yu Ting 2010 NRFF
Edith Elkind 2009 NRFF
Frédérique Elise Oggier 2009 NRFF
Hilmi Volkan Demir 2009 NRFF
Xiong Qihua 2009 NRFF
Christos Panagopoulos 2008 NRFF

Nanyang Awards

The Nanyang Awards are given by the University in recognition and celebration of outstanding achievements and contributions in research, education, and other areas.

Ling Xing Yi2020Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award (Individual)
Mihaiela C. Stuparu2020Nanyang Education Award (School)
Wang Xiao, Renshaw2020Nanyang Education Award (School)
Tang Wee Kee2019Nanyang Education Award (College)
Justin Song Chien Wen2019Nanyang Education Award (School)
Gary Royden Watson Greaves2019Nanyang Education Award (School)
Thomas Peyrin2019Nanyang Research Award (Young Investigator)
Chong Yidong2019Nanyang Research Award (Team)
Zhang Baile2019Nanyang Research Award (Team)
Ranjan Singh2019Nanyang Research Award (Team)
Chong Yidong
2018Nanyang Education Award (College)
​Nicolas Privault ​2018 ​Nanyang Education Award (School)
Liew Wen Siang ​2018 ​Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award (Individual)
Nikolay Zheludev 2017 Nanyang Research Award
Ho Shen Yong 2017 Nanyang Education Award (University), Gold
Leek Meng Lee 2017 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Zhang Baile 2016 Nanyang Research Award (Young Investigator)
Chua Chek Beng 2016 Nanyang Education Award (College)
Chong Yidong 2016 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Tang Wee Kee 2016 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Chan Song Heng 2015 Nanyang Education Award (College)
Erik Anders Mikael Gustavsson 2015 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Ho Shen Yong 2014 Nanyang Education Award (College)
Chan Song Heng 2014 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Pinaki Sengupta 2014 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Hilmi Volkan Demir 2014 Nanyang Award for Research Excellence
Xiong Qihua 2014 Nanyang Award for Research Excellence
Sum Tze Chien 2014 Nanyang Award for Research Excellence (Team)
Andrew James Kricker 2013 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Ho Shen Yong 2012 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Koh Tieh Yong 2012 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Chia Ee Min, Elbert 2011 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Tai Xue-Cheng 2010 Research & Innovation Award (Individual)
Cheong Siew Ann 2010 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Tan Geok Choo 2009 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Shen Zexiang 2008 Research & Innovation Award (Team)
Yu Ting 2008 Research & Innovation Award (Team)
Chua Chek Beng 2008 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Andrew James Kricker 2007 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Chew Lock Yue 2007 Nanyang Education Award (School)
Sum Tze Chien 2006 Nanyang Education Award (School)

SPMS Teaching Excellence Award

Awarded by the School to faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Anders Gustavsson2017, 2020
Andrew Kricker2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2021
Bei Xiaohui2021
Bernhard Schmidt2006, 2007, 2008, 2019
Chan Song Heng2011, 2014
Chee Yeow Meng2010
Chen Ning2010
Cheong Siew Ann2008, 2010, 2011
Chew Lock Yue2009, 2013
Chia Ee Min, Elbert2010, 2011, 2012, 2016
Chong Yi Dong2016
Chua Chek Beng2007, 2008, 2010, 2014
Conan Won2015
Erik Anders Mikael Gustavsson2011
Fan Hongjin2013
Fedor Duzhin2008, 2015, 2016
​Gary Royden Watson Greaves​2019
​Gu Mile​2019
Ho Shen Yong2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2021
Huan Cheng Hon Alfred2009
​Justin Song Chien Wen​2019
Kiah Han Mao2016, 2017, 2019
Koh Teck Seng2017, 2019
Koh Tieh Yong2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2013
Ku Cheng Yeaw2017, 2019
Leek Meng Lee2014, 2015, 2017
Lew Wen Siang2014, 2018
​Liew Chi Hin Timothy​2018
Lian Heng2010
Ling San2007, 2008
Marco Battiato2021
Massimo Pica Ciamarra2020
Nicolas Privault2012, 2013, 2015, 2018
Paterek Tomasz2015
Pinaki Sengupta2020
Ranjan Singh​2018
S.N. Piramanayagam2021
Sum Tze Chien2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Sun Handong2017
Tan Geok Choo2009, 2018
​Tan Hai Siong​2018
Tang Wee Kee2013, 2016
Wang Desheng2013
Wang Li-Lian2010
Wang Xiao, Renshaw2020
Yeo Kwee Poo2020
Zhang Baile2016

SPMS Honour Roll for Teaching Excellence

Awarded by the School to faculty members who have demonstrated long-term excellence in teaching.

Ho Shen Yong2016
Chia Ee Min, Elbert2013
Andrew Kricker2012
Sum Tze Chien2010

SPMS Young Researcher Award

Awarded by the School to junior faculty who have demonstrated excellence in research.

Guo Jian2021
Wang Xiao, Renshaw2021
Ariel Neufeld2020
Timothy Liew2020
Bei Xiaohui
Mile Gu
Kiah Han Mao2018
Lan Shau Yu2018
Ng Keng Meng2017
Ranjan Singh2017
Thomas Peyrin2016
Zhang Baile2016
Ng Keng Meng2015
Chong Yidong2015
Wu Hongjun2014
Cesare Soci2014
Pan Guangming2013
Sum Tze Chien2013
Ng Keng Meng2012
Xiong Qihua2012
Chen Ning2011
Fan Hongjin2011
Wang Li-Lian2010
Phan Annh Tuan2010
Wang Desheng2009
Wu Tao, Tom2009
Wu Guohua2008
Kuo Jer-Lai2008

SPMS Outstanding Mentor Award

Awarded by the School to faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in mentoring students.

Mihaiela Stuparu2020
Lu Bing Sui2020
Fedor Duzhin 2020
Cheong Siew Ann2019
Frederique Oggier2019
Ku Cheng Yeaw2018
Li Yi2018
Tan Geok Choo2018