Our Faculty

At the Division of Banking and Finance, our faculty engages in state of the art research in various aspects of financial economics, actuarial science and insurance. Our faculty specialises in research relating to banking, corporate governance, behavioral finance, social finance, sustainable and green finance, fintech, risk management, actuarial science and (re)insurance.
Jun-Koo KANG
Head, Division of Banking and Finance &
Canon Professorship of Finance

Office: ABS-06-115
Angie Low
Deputy Head, Division of Banking and Finance &
Associate Professor

Office: ABS-06-035 
Low Buen Sin

Associate Dean (China Programmes and
Executive Education) &
Professor (Practice)

Office: ABS-06-128 
Chang Xin

Associate Dean (Research) &
Professor of Finance

Office: ABS-06-122
Charlie Charoenwong

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-045

Tao Chen

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-106


Chong Beng Soon

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-112


Matthew DEARTH

Associate Professor (Practice)

Office: ABS-06-036


AP Deng Xin
Associate Professor (Practice)

Office: ABS-06-107

Byoung-Hyoun Hwang

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-116

Shinichi Kamiya

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-047


Yougesh Khatri

Associate Professor (Practice)

Office: ABS-06-033

LAU Sie Ting

Associate Professor

Office: ABS-06-119
Lee Boon Keng
Director, CAFE and CEIT &
Associate Professor (Practice)

Office: ABS-06-094

Luo Jiang

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-105 


Ru Hong

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-034

Wu Yuan

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-051 


Zhu Wenjun

Associate Professor 

Office: ABS-06-113

Dawoon Kim

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-043

Asst Prof Kate Park

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-117

Asst Prof Varun Sharma

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-092

Wang Xin

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-104

Asst Prof Wei Pengyu

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-103

Zhang Jinggong

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-048

Zhu Qifei

Assistant Professor 

Office: ABS-06-037


Senior Lecturer

Office: ABS-06-049

Ernie TEO

Senior Lecturer

Office: ABS-06-095

Ciyu NIE


Office: ABS-06-050

Ho Kim Wai

Emeritus Associate Professor

Office: ABS-06-091


Thomas CHHOA

Adjunct Associate Professor

Email: [email protected]

Professor Zhiguo He
Professor of Finance
University of Chicago

Period of Visit: 25 to 29 March 2019 

Professor Neng Wang
Chong Khoon Lin Professor of Real Estate and Finance
Columbia University

Period of Visit: 10 to 15 August 2018 and 16 to 26 Jul 2016

Professor Harrison Hong
John R. Eckel Jr. Professor of Financial Economics
Department of Economics
Columbia University

Period of Visit:  3 to 7 July 2017

Professor Paul H. Malatesta
Managing Editor - Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis
Norman J. Metcalfe Faculty Fellow and Professor of Finance
University of Washington, Seattle

Period of Visit:  27 Nov to 1 Dec 2017, Dec 2016; Jun 2012 and Oct to Nov 2005

Professor Jarrad Harford
Paul Pigott - PACCAR Professor of Finance and Chair of the Finance and Business Economics Department
University of Washington

Period of Visit:  Nov to Dec 2016

Professor Sheridan Titman
Walter W. McAllister Centennial Chair in Financial Services and Professor of Finance
University of Texas at Austin

Period of visit: 27 May to 3 Jun 2016 and 13 to 20 Jul 2010

Professor Avanidhar Subrahmanyam
University of California, Los Angeles

Period of visit:  17 to 19 Mar 2016 and 1 to 5 Feb 2016​

Professor Susheng Wang
Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Period of Visit:  10 to 29 Aug 2015

Professor Richard Roll
Joel Fried Chair in Applied Finance
Anderson School of Management
University of California, Los Angeles

Period of visit:  Jun 2014​

Professor Ralph Walkling
Faculty of Finance
Drexel University 

Period of Visit:  Nov 2013

Professor David Hirshleifer
Merage Chair in Business Growth and Professor of Finance
University of California at Irvine

Period of Visit: Jun 2011; Jun to Jul 2010; Aug to Sep 2009; Aug 2008

Professor Rajesh Aggarwal
University of Minnesota

Period of Visit: 16 to 22 Jul 2010

Professor Scott Weisbenner
James F. Towey Faculty Fellow and Associate Professor of Finance
University of Illinois

Period of Visit: Mar & Jul 2010


NIE Ciyu
NBS Teaching Excellence Award
LUO JiangNBS Research Excellence Award


Teacher of the Year Awards for Master of Science in Asset and Wealth Management
Tao CHEN, JonasNBS Research Excellence Award
Tao CHEN, JonasBest Paper Award, Maritime Silk Road Accounting and Finance Meeting
Tao CHEN, JonasBest Paper Award, IAS Midyear Meeting of the American Accounting Association (AAA)


Jun-Koo KANG
Sangnam Business Scholar Award, The Korea Academic Society of Business Administration (the highest distinction made by the KASBA to recognize an outstanding scholar in all fields of business)
Jun-Koo KANG
Ranked among the top two percent of the world's most highly cited researchers (1996 to 2019), Meta-Research Innovation Center at Stanford University
Angie LOW An Chee
NBS Teaching Excellence Award
Tao CHEN, JonasNanyang Education Award
Tao CHEN, JonasNominee for the Nanyang Research Award (Young Investigator)
Tao CHEN, JonasExcellence in Reviewing Award, American Accounting Association (AAA) Annual Meeting
ZHU QifeiMoskowitz Prize
ZHU Wenjun 
Nominee for NBS Business Teacher of the Year Award


Angie LOW An Chee
Best Reviewer Award Asia-Pacific Journal of Financial Studies
Xin CHANG, Simba
Best PhD Supervisor Award, Graduate College Mentoring Award, Nanyang Technological University
HO Kim Wai 
Teacher of the Year Award (MSc Asset and Wealth Management Programme) 
LOW Buen Sin 
Teacher of the Year Award (MSc Finance Programme) 
Tao CHEN, Jonas
Nominee for the Nanyang Education Award (School), NTU
Tao CHEN, Jonas
Pioneer Award, Peak Initiative of Digital Finance Open Research
Shinichi KAMIYA 
NBS Research Excellence Award
ZHU Wenjun
Nominee for Msc Financial Engineering Teacher of the Year Award
ZHU Wenjun 
NBS Teaching Excellence Award


HO Kim Wai Teacher of the Year Award (Nanyang Fellows MBA Programme) 
Tao CHEN, JonasNBS Teaching Excellence Award
Tao CHEN, JonasBest Paper Award, Asian Finance Association (AsianFA) Conference
Hoonsuk PARKBest Paper Award, Conference on Asia-Pacific Financial Markets
Jun-Koo KANGBest Paper Award, International Conference on Asia-Pacific Financial Markets, Seoul, Korea
Jun-Koo KANGThe 12th Shinhan Bank & KAFA Best Paper Award, Korean and American Finance Association, New Orleans, USA
LUO JiangReview of Financial Economics best paper award, “Affect Heuristic and Stock Ownership: A Theoretical Perspective” (joint with Avanidhar Subrahmanyam)
Shinichi KAMIYAEuropean Financial Management Readers’ Choice Best Paper Award
WU Yuan 
Teacher of the Year Award (MSc Finance Programme)