Welcome to the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (CoHASS)

Events of the 21st century make education and research particularly challenging both for our students and faculty members. Guided by our vision to stress the importance of being human in a digital and technological age, CoHASS has grown to become an integral pillar of the NTU education structure with a focus on driving educational and research excellence for our students through our four schools.

Each of our four schools, namely the School of Art, Design and Media, School of Humanities, School of Social Sciences, and Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information is uniquely different in its own strengths. While each of them has its academic area of focus, the college as a whole aims to generate interdisciplinary opportunities for students, foster creativity, and encourage curiosity through the offering of Double Majors, Second Majors, Minors or even just taking a few courses to be read as Broadening and Deepening Electives.

Each of the major areas of study prepares graduates to be practitioners of their trade, ready to embark on professional careers in academia, corporate, public service, research and many other areas. Our graduates are able to distinguish themselves with their creativity, global outlook, ability to critically analyse and brainstorm solutions for complex issues, and present confidence in their writing abilities as well as their persuasive oral communication skills.

Our faculty and researchers are at the forefront of their fields, ensuring that all teaching and research endeavours are made relevant and that the desired outcomes are useful to address issues confronting us  today; contributing meaningfully to ongoing research and discourses on global cities, global economies, sustainability, health and biomedical technologies, and other contemporary issues. Our research cuts across the fields of ethics, heritage studies, the study of knowledge and belief systems, as well as studies of language, literature, film, communication, sustainability and resilience, human behaviour and technology, leadership and disruptive innovation, aiming to deepen our understanding of what culture and the society are, how and why it matters. We engage with top scholars, artists, practitioners, developers, community organisations, and companies, both within and outside NTU, to make a major impact on Singapore and Southeast Asian society, and the world at large.

To discover more about how NTU and CoHASS can help you be the change, do visit our website and feel free to get in touch with us!

Professor Joseph Liow
Dean, CoHASS


Our Vision is to provide high-quality education, leading-edge research, public scholarship, and opportunities for social innovation and lifelong learning in the arts, humanities and social sciences