Published on 18 Dec 2020

President's Science Award won by three CDPT investigators

Professor Nikolay Zheludev, Associate Professor Chong Yidong and Associate Professor Zhang Baile have received the President's Science Award for pioneering a new sub-field of photonics called topological nanophotonics.

The President's Science and Technology Awards (PSTA) are the highest honours bestowed on research scientists and engineers in Singapore for achievements in science and technology. These national awards are given annually to recognise and celebrate outstanding and invaluable contributions by individuals or teams to the research and development landscape in Singapore.

The three NTU physicists received the prestigious President's Science Award from Singapore President Madam Halimah Yacob at the annual President’s Science and Technology Awards. The award cited their development of new materials that are able to route light around corners without reflection, unlike regular light waves. Their discoveries have opened up new types of microscopy and metrology allowing for the imaging and the measurement of nanoscale objects much smaller than previously possible.