Published on 09 Mar 2023

Dan Maydan Prize for Nanoscience Research 2023 - Prof Chen Xiaodong

We would like to extend our heartiest congratulations to Professor Chen Xiaodong, who has been awarded the prestigious Dan Maydan Prize for Nanoscience Research 2023.

Prof Chen was awarded the Prize for his seminal contributions to novel nanomaterials and nanodevices, in particular for flexible electronics, nano-bio and cyber-human interfaces, and alternative energy applications.

Prof Chen will be presented the Prize at a ceremony in spring 2023 at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Edmond J. Safra Campus, Jerusalem, Israel. He will also be invited as a guest of the Hebrew University nanoscience community, giving academic lectures and seminars, as well as engaging and interacting with faculty members, students and technical-scientific staff. 

As a recipient, Prof Chen Xiaodong is the first scientist from an Asian university to be awarded the Prize and stands alongside previous laureates that include: 

  • Prof Pablo Jarillo-Herrero of MIT (2022)
  • Prof Maksym V. Kovalenko of ETH Zürich & Prof Andrea Alu of CUNY Advanced Science Research Center (2021)
  • Prof Ali Javey of UC Berkeley (2020)
  • Prof Yi Cui of Stanford University (2019)

About the Dan Maydan Prize for Nanoscience Research
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (HU), in conjunction with the American Friends of the Hebrew University (AFHU), announced the establishment of the Dan Maydan Prize in Nanoscience Research in 2019, with the generous contribution of Dr. Maydan, who played a central role in establishing the Israeli National Nanotechnology Initiative (INNI). The INNI helped position Israel as a leader in nanotech and led to the opening of 10 nanotech centres in the country, including HU’s Harvey M. Krueger Family Center for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. The Center for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem is the leading nanotech center in Israel, with a multidisciplinary approach that has brought advances in nano sensors for autonomous driving, innovations in 3D printing, pharma and more. The annual USD 10,000 Dan Maydan Prize in Nanoscience Research is awarded annually to an outstanding mid-career scientist for significant academic accomplishment in nanoscience and nanotechnology. Prize winners are carefully chosen by the selection committee of at least three members, headed by the current director of the HUCNN (Prof. Uriel Levy) and the founding director of the HUCNN (Prof. Uri Banin). The Prize enables an interchange of knowledge between the Center’s scientists and nano-scientists worldwide.