Published on 27 Aug 2021

Prof Gao Huajian awarded 2022 TMS William D. Nix Award

Distinguished University Professor Gao Huajian has been awarded the 2022 TMS (The Mineral, Metals and Materials Society) William D. Nix Award. This award was established to honor Prof. William D. Nix of Stanford University for the tremendous legacy that he has developed and shared with the minerals, metals, and materials community, and to highlight and promote continued progress and innovation relevant to research into the underlying mechanisms and mechanical behavior of macro-, micro-, and nanoscale materials.  MAE Prof Gao receives this award for his pioneering contributions to nanomechanics of engineering and biological systems, a new interdisciplinary research field. Two prior recipients of the award are Prof. Robert Ritchie (FRS, NAE) from University of California at Berkeley and Prof. George Pharr (NAE) from the Texas A&M University.

Prof Gao has been honored by several professional societies for his work. He has been elected as Members or Foreign Members of U.S. National Academy of Science (NAS), U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE), American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and Academia Europaea. He long list of awards and honors ranges from a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship in 1995 (for exceptional scholarship or creativity; only 1-2 awards in engineering per year) to recent awards including the 2021 Timoshenko Medal from American Society of Mechanical Engineers (the highest life achievement award of his field).