Seminar on Understanding the printability and mechanical behavior of additively manufactured materials

27 Jul 2022 11.00 AM - 12.00 PM LT9 (NS4-04-39, Level 4, North Spine, 50 Nanyang Ave, Singapore 639798) Current Students, Public

Prof Y. Morris Wang


Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California

This seminar will be chaired by Prof Upadrasta Ramamurty.

Seminar Abstract

Additive manufacturing (aka 3D printing) via laser powder-bed-fusion offers unique and abundant opportunities to create structural materials and components in a single print. Among numerous challenges existent in this field, some recent effort has been focused on the printability of many pure metals and commercial/new alloys and mechanical performance of these materials in as-printed and/or post-treated conditions. This talk will start with the examinations of fundamentals of laser-materials interactions, in an effort to tackle printability issues that were encountered especially in refractory metals and alloys. Pure tungsten will be used a primary case of study for printability issues. The second part of this talk will discuss our effort to create metals and alloys with simultaneously high strength and high ductility – the Holy Grail of materials science. We will use both pure metals and alloys as examples. Despite limited success, cautions must be exercised in terms of the other physical properties of additively manufactured materials.

Speaker’s Biography​
Dr. Y. Morris Wang is a professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). His group’s research focuses on additively manufactured materials, nanostructured materials, and lithium-ion batteries. Before joining UCLA, Wang was a deputy group leader at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, where he joined as a distinguished Graboske Fellow and spent about seventeen years. There his research spanned from nanostructured materials to fusion target materials to additively manufactured materials. Wang is a fellow of American Physical Society and a winner of Nano50 Innovator Award. He served as the Editorial Board Member of Scientific Report from 2019-2021.