Tan Swan Beng Professorship in Construction Industry

The Tan Swan Beng Professorship in Construction Industry was established in 1998 by the Tan Swan Beng Professorship Fund Raising Committee through 270 donors. With 1:1 government matching fund, a total capital of S$2,578,741.74 was raised. Going forward, the Fund will be used primarily for 2 purposes: 1) to grant REP students who pursue Civil Engineering as their core area of specialisation and 2) to fund Visiting Professorship activities which will include lectures, talks, symposiums, workshops and visiting term appoints of professorships or industry practitioners/experts in the field of Civil Engineering and Construction, including green technology/infrastructure and sustainable earth construction technology. The school has invited Prof Victor Li, E.B. Wylie Chair Professor, University of Michigan, Prof Zhao Jian, Chair Professor of Laboratory for Rock Mechanics, EPFL, Prof Raymond Sterling, Louisiana Tech University, Prof Miroslaw Skibniewski, University of Maryland, USA, Prof Alan David Russell, University of British Columbia, USA and Prof Michael A. Mooney, Colorado School of Mines, USA as Tan Swan Beng Endowed Professors.  ​