MPA Professorship

The MPA Professorship scheme in Shipping Management was established in 2004 with an endowed sum of S$4m.  

There are three categories under the Professorship scheme:
MPA Visiting Professor
MPA Visiting Fellow
MPA Distinguished Visitor

The MPA Visiting Professor will provide an impetus for the promotion of research and development of knowledge and expertise in Shipping Management in Singapore. The school has invited Prof Paul Lee Tae-Woo, Kainan University, Taiwan, Prof Shuo Ma, World Maritime University, Sweden, Prof Theo Edmond Notteboom, University of Antwer, Belgium, Prof Kevin Cullinane, University of Antwerp, Belgium, Prof Ruth Banomyong, Thammasat University, Thailand, Prof Song Dong-Wook, World Maritime University, Sweden and Prof Emmanuouil Kavousanos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece as MPA Visiting Professors.​

The MPA Visiting Fellow will provide a focus for educational training in this field including specialist continuing education programme, such as intensive executive short courses with specialisation in Shipping Management, as well as the teaching of the postgraduate and undergraduate courses in NTU. The School has invited Prof Han Jong Khil, Sungkyul University, South Korea, Prof Ellen Catherine Bjune, BI School of Management, Norway and Prof Yeo Gi-Tae, University of Incheon as MPA Visiting Fellows.    

The MPA Distinguished Visitor will be working professionals with extensive experience from the industry, who can participate in the educational mission and impart their knowledge through the teaching of the undergraduate and graduate courses.

Since its inception, 2 Professors with strong experience and knowledge in Maritime studies and Research had visited NTU under the said professorship. They were Prof Theo Edmond Notteboom, University of Antwerp, Belgium and Prof Torger Reve, BI Norwegian School of Management, Norway.