Our People

The Institute seeks to offer a vibrant intellectual home to visiting fellows, postdoctoral fellows and PhD students. Led by the Institute Director,  Professor  Vanessa  Evers, with guidance from a panel of eminent international advisors and support from a dedicated professional team, it creates opportunities for interdisciplinary collaborative research involving academic, government, and industry leaders. It also works closely with all NTU’s Schools and Colleges to jointly host various activities such as academic conferences and workshops, public lectures, dialogues with government and industry partners, summer/winter schools for international scholars and graduate students, and short courses.




Sulfikar AMIR
Acting Director, NISTH
Associate Professor, Science, Technology, and Society. Sociology Programme. School of Social Sciences, NTU

Postdoctoral Research Fellows

YEE Shiran

Research Associates
Muhammad Adha Bin MOHD SHALEH

Maitri BOBBA
Senior Assistant Manager
(Marketing and Communication)

Research Assistant
TEO Tian Leng Marcus



NISTH International Advisory Board (IAB) is a selected group of prominent academics, industry leaders and policymakers who ​act as informed advisors on issues of importance to the Institute as it continues to expand its international scope and efforts. By fusing the wisdom and commitment of its members, the IAB helps NISTH enhance its standing as an international interdisciplinary institute of excellence in research, thought leadership and public education. Below are the founding members of the IAB elected in 2019.

Mr Peter HO
Chair, IAB

Senior Advisor, Centre for Strategic Futures, Singapore
Former Head, Singapore Civil Service

Mr Enrico LETTA

Dean, Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA), 
Former Prime Minister of Italy

Mr Esko Tapani AHO
Former Prime Minister of Finland
Prof. Helga NOWOTNY
Professor emerita of Science and Technology Studies, ETH Zurich
Former president of the European Research Council
Ms CHANG Hwee Nee
Chief Executive Officer, 
National Heritage Board, Singapore
Managing Director,
Head of Center for the 4th Industrial Revolution &
Global Network,
World Economic Forum LLC
Prof. Nicholas B. DIRKS
Former Chancellor,
University of California, Berkeley
Prof. YANG Wei
Former President,
National Natural Science Foundation of China
Former President, Zhejiang University, China
Prof. Sheila JASANOFF

Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies,
Harvard University