Ron Hui Shu Yuen

Prof Ron Hui
School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Cluster Director
Renewables' Integration & Microgrids
Energy Research Institute @ NTU (ERI@N)
Phone: (+65) 6790 4529
Office: S1-B1C-90

Professor Ron Hui received his BSc (Eng) Hons at the University of Birmingham in 1984 and a D.I.C. and PhD at Imperial College London in 1987. He was a Lecturer at the University of Nottingham, UK in 1987–90. In 1990, he joined the University of Technology, Sydney, and was appointed Senior Lecturer at the University of Sydney, in 1992, where he became a Reader in 1995. He joined the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) as a Professor in 1996 and was promoted to Chair Professor in 1998. In 2001–04, he served as an Associate Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering at CityU. From July 2011 to June 2021, he holds the Chair Professorship at the University of Hong Kong and Imperial College London. 

From March 2021, he is the MediaTek Endowed Professor at the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. Since July 2010, he holds a part-time Chair Professorship of Power Electronics at Imperial College London. 

He has published over 450 technical papers, including more than 300 refereed journal publications and 10 book chapters. Over 60 of his patents have been adopted by industry. He is a Fellow of the IEEE (2003) and IET (1996). Since 2013, he has been the Editor of the Journal on Selected and Emerging Topics in Power Electronics. He has been an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics since 1997 and an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics since 2007. He has been appointed twice as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer by the IEEE Power Electronics Society in 2004 and 2006. He served as one of the 18 Administrative Committee members of the IEEE Power Electronics Society and was the Chairman of its Constitution and Bylaws Committee from 2002-2010.

He received the Excellent Teaching Award at CityU in 1998 and the Earth Champion Award in 2008. He won an IEEE Best Paper Award from the IEEE IAS Committee on Production and Applications of Light in 2002, and four 1st-Place IEEE Power Electronics Transactions Prize Paper Awards (2009, 2010, 2014, 2015). His inventions on wireless charging platform technology underpin key dimensions of Qi, the world's first wireless power standard launched by the Wireless Power Consortium in 2010, with freedom of positioning and localized charging features for wireless charging of consumer electronics. The Wireless Power Consortium now comprises over 640 companies worldwide. He also pioneered the Photo-Electro-Thermal Theory for LED Systems, unifying the nonlinear interactions of heat, light, power and color under the same mathematical framework. In Nov. 2010, he received the IEEE Rudolf Chope R&D Award from the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, the IET Achievement Medal (The Crompton Medal) and was elected to the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering. In 2015, he received the prestigious IEEE Technical Field Award (IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award). In 2016, he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, U.K. In 2019, he was elected as a Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors. He also won the Teaching Excellence Award at CityU in 1998 and Distinguished Research Achievement Award at HKU in 2019.