

Home $\ \square$ NEWS $\ \square$ Technology and Engineering $\ \square$

Professor Su Guaning, President Emeritus Of NTU Singapore, Elected To The United States National Academy

Professor Su Guaning, President Emeritus of Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (NTU Singapore), has been elected to the United States' National Academy of Engineering (NAE) – the only

Singaporean on the list this year.

Prof Su is the fourth from NTU Singapore to receive this honour. The other three members are President Subra Suresh and Professor Huajian Gao, both NTU Distinguished University Professors, and Prof Nikolay Zheludev of The Photonics Institute and College of Science

Election to the National Academy of Engineering, which has 2,309 US members and 281 international members, is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

The second President of NTU, serving from 1 January 2003 to 30 June 2011, Prof Su was elected as a foreign member of the NAE for his contributions to regional security and defence, and for academic leadership.

As President, Prof Su led NTU's transformation into an autonomous university. Under his leadership, NTU's academic offering was expanded through the establishment of three new schools – the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, the School of Art, Design and Media and the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences.

Prof Su was also one of the key drivers of NTU's 2015 strategic plan, steering NTU Singapore's focus in five areas: Sustainable Earth, Future Healthcare, New Media, the New Silk Road and Innovation Asia.

Prior to his academic career, Prof Su had dedicated 30 years into enhancing Singapore's defence capabilities, rising to the role of Chief Executive of the Defence Science & Technology Agency.

A Singapore President's Scholar and Colombo Plan Scholar, Prof Su obtained his PhD in Electrical Engineering and MS in Statistics from Stanford University. His MS and BSc in Electrical Engineering (with Distinction) were from the California Institute of Technology and University of Alberta, respectively. The University of Alberta conferred on him an honorary doctorate in 2015.