Institute Directors


Professor Tze-Chien SUM

Prof sum tze chien.jpg


Professor Tze-Chien Sum is an internationally renowned photophysics expert who has published over 250 journal papers, with a citation count of over 18,000 and an H-index of 64. His honours include being named a Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher with cross-field impact for three consecutive years (2018 - 2020), as well as the 2018 National Research Foundation Investigatorship Award and the 2014 Institute of Physics Singapore World Scientific Medal and Prize for Outstanding Physics Research. Prof Sum has also won several awards for teaching excellence.

He received his PhD in physics from the National University of Singapore and joined the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) at the Nanyang Technological University as a lecturer in 2005 where he switched his research field from applied nuclear physics (proton beam writing and accelerator-based nuclear spectroscopy) to Femtosecond Laser Spectroscopy and its applications. Subsequently, he set up the Femtosecond Dynamics Laboratory (xC-Lab) and the Organic Electronics Laboratory; and established a new research group at the Division of Physics and Applied Physics, SPMS.

His current research interests include investigating light matter interactions; energy and charge transfer mechanisms; and probing carrier and quasi-particle dynamics in a broad range of emergent nanoscale and light harvesting systems using Femtosecond time-resolved spectroscopy.

Professor Sum is the Associate Dean (Research) in the College of Science as well as the Director of the Institute of Advanced Studies at NTU. 

Associate Director

Associate Professor Nripan MATHEWS

Prof Nripan re.jpg


Associate Professor Mathews is Provost's Chair in Materials Science and Engineering and Cluster Director, Renewables and Low Carbon Generation (Solar) at the Energy Research Institute @ NTU (ERI@N). His honours include being named a Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher with cross-field impact for three straight years (2018 - 2020), as well as a 2019 World Economic Forum Young Scientist for his research and work on perovskite solar cells. He is also the winner of the A*STAR- IAS Young Researcher Award and an MIT TR35 awardee.

His primary research interests are photovoltaics, field effect transistors and neuromorphic devices. His research work has been published (~180 publications) in many high impact factor journals. His research covers a wide variety of novel materials and novel morphologies produced through a range of fabrication procedures.

He obtained his first degree in Materials Engineering (First Class Honors) from NTU (2003) and his MSc under the Singapore-MIT Alliance on Advanced Materials for Micro- and Nano-Systems (2004). He pursued his PhD at a joint Commissariat a l'energie atomique (CEA) - Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS)- Universite de Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI University) laboratory in the area of molecular crystals, studying the signatures of optical excitations within them (2008). He was also a visiting scientist at Professor Michael Graetzel's laboratory at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), working on a pan-european project on photoelectrochemical hydrogen production.

Share Article