Prof Bertil Andersson

Professor Bertil Andersson served as the third President of NTU, from 1 July 2011 to 31 Dec 2017. He was conferred the title of President Emeritus on 24 July 2018.

During this time, he led the University to global distinction. In 2017, NTU was ranked 11th in the world and the best in Asia in the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings. That year, it was again placed the world’s best young university (under 50 years old) by QS for the fourth consecutive year. In research, NTU rose to lead the top Asian universities in normalised research citation impact (Clarivate Analytics’ InCites 2015 and 2016) and became Singapore’s top institution in research.

A Fellow of Imperial College London, Professor Andersson was instrumental in Imperial College London coming to Singapore to jointly establish a medical school with NTU.

Professor Andersson received the Austrian Wilhelm Exner Medal and the Singapore President’s Science and Technology Medal, both top honours for lifetime achievement in science and research that has advanced society. In 2016, he was elected a Fellow of the Singapore National Academy of Science for his distinguished contributions to science development in Singapore and for leading NTU to global distinction. In 2017, he became the first European in 10 years to receive the Meritorious Service Medal from the Singapore government for his contributions to NTU and to the nation.

Professor Andersson received his BSc and MSc at Umeå University, Sweden, before completing his PhD and DSc at Lund University, Sweden.

He holds more than 16 honorary doctorates from universities that include Tianjin University, University of Edinburgh, University of Exeter, University of Southampton, University of New South Wales, Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Hanyang University.

Share Article