​​​​​​Supporting the university's educational goals, TLPD administers various grants and awards that aim to foster and recognise innovation and excellence in learning and teaching by NTU faculty. They include:


  1. NTU EdeX Grants (for teaching innovation)
  2. John Cheng Social Media Awards
  3. Nanyang Education Awards (NEA)


For a summary, please click on the individual links above.

For details, please click on the links on the right pane.


NTU EdeX Grants

Offered annually, the EdeX learning and teaching project grants provide faculty the opportunity to develop new strategies to improve student learning by undertaking a form of action research over a period of 18 months.

Applications for the Grant begin in September each year and are awarded by November.

Grant and application details can be found here.

For the list of grant award recipients, pleace click here.


John Cheung Social Media Awards

Each year, TLPD organises the John Cheung Social Media Award that is awarded annually as part of the John Cheung Endowment Fund (Social Media for Teaching and Learning). Candidates of the award are nominated by the respective Schools / College and will be decided by a judging panel. Award recipients will each receive a cash award of $1000 each.

List of Schools/Colleges

  • College of Business (Nanyang Business School)
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences
  • College of Science
  • Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine
  • National Institute of Education
  • Rajaratnam School of International Studies


The award will be presented in October in conjunction with the Innovations in Teaching Seminar (IITS).


2015 John Cheung Social Media Award Recipients

  1. Ms Hoo Hui Teng (Nanyang Business School)
  2. Dr Cui Feng (College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences)
  3. Ms Wong Pei Wen (College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences)
  4. Dr Cise Unluer (College of Engineering)
  5. Asst Prof Zachary Walker (National Institute of Education)
  6. Asst Prof Jennifer Yeo (National Institute of Education)


For John Cheung Social Media Award details, please click here.


Nanyang Education Awards (NEA)

NEA was established in 2013 as an expansion of the old Nanyang Award for Excellence in Teaching at School level into a multi-tier award scheme that elevates teaching recognition at higher levels within Colleges and in the University.

For NEA-College, the number of awards for the past two years were increased to 12 in each year. This has enabled us to quickly build a critical pool of 22 Fellows to date for the Teaching Excellence Academy. For the inaugural University Awards in 2014, the inaugural pool of 12 College winners from 2013 were all considered by the Selection Panel, with 5 eventually selected as the University Award winners.

For the University Awards, each College should submit one nomination from among its College winners to the Secretariat of the Teaching Excellence Academy c/o TLPD. Up to three University Awards per year may be given out, subject to the quality of candidates in the award year.


NEA (University) - Event Timeline

​30 Sep 2016​Call for nominations for NEA (University)
​31 Oct 2016​Close of nominations
​4 Nov 2016​*Submission of Dossiers to TEA Secretariat​
​TBA​Interview of Award Nominees by University Education Award Committee
​TBA​Selection of NEA (University) winners


*Nominations and Dossiers should be submitted to TEA Secretariat:


For Nanyang Education Awards (NEA) details, please click here.

Share Article