6th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore 2014 with Nobel Laureates


With strong support from the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and the Ministry of Education, the Institute of Advanced Studies at NTU and Hwa Chong Institution are jointly organising the 6th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore (ISYF) from 19 to 23 January 2014.

This forum is into its 6th year since inception and is still well received by talented youths all over the world. This year, around 120 students and educators from premier schools worldwide will be interacting with the Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists to explore the theme “Science for Humanity in the 21st Century”.

Through these high-profile interactions, the forum aims to create greater awareness among the budding science talents about the importance of broad-based knowledge, keen curiosity, relentless tenacity and a global outlook in the pursuit of science excellence. Educators will similarly be enriched as the Forum will enhance their pedagogical competencies as well as facilitate the development of close ties and future collaborations.


Panel Discussion by Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists @ NTU


In addition to the programmes at Hwa Chong Institution, there will be a panel discussion by the Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists at NTU on 21 January 2014. The theme of the panel discussion is Science for Humanity in the 21st Century: Conflicts and Controversies”.
The panel discussion will be chaired by NTU President, Professor Bertil Andersson.


Panel Speakers

 Professor Aaron Ciechanover



Professor Aaron Ciechanover is an Israeli biologist. He was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery with Avram Hershko and Irwin Rose, of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation As one of Israel's first Nobel Laureates in Science, he is honoured in playing a central role in the history of the State of Israel and in the History of the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology. He is currently a Technion Distinguished Research Professor in the Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute at the Technion.

 Professor Sir Anthony James Leggett




Professor Sir Anthony James Leggett has been a Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign since 1983.

Professor Leggett is widely recognized as a world leader in the theory of low-temperature physics. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2003 for his pioneering work on superfluidity. He has shaped the theoretical understanding of normal and superfluid helium liquids and strongly coupled superfluids. He set directions for research in the quantum physics of macroscopic dissipative systems and use of condensed systems to test the foundations of quantum mechanic.

 Professor Kurt Wüthrich

Professor Kurt Wüthrich is a Swiss chemist/biophysicist known for his work in the development of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) methods for studying biological macromolecules. He was awarded the 2002 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his development of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy for determining the three-dimensional structure of biological macromolecules in solution.

Prof Wüthrich currently maintains a laboratory both at the ETH Zürich and at The Scripps Research Institute, in La Jolla, California. He is also a member on the USA Science and Engineering Festival's Advisory Board.


 Professor Stephen Smale

Professor Stephen Smale is an American mathematician who was awarded the Fields Medal in 1966 for his work on topology in higher dimensions. An Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley, he also won the prestigious Wolf Prize in Mathematics in 2006. His proof of the Poincaré Conjecture for dimensions bigger or equal to 5, is one of the greatest mathematical achievements of the 20th century.

Professor Smale is currently a Professor at the Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago and a Distinguished University Professor at the City University of Hong Kong.


Professor Jackie Ying

Professor Jackie Ying is the Executive Director of the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology at A*STAR. She has been recognized with a number of research awards, including the American Ceramic Society Ross C. Purdy Award for the most valuable contribution to the ceramic technical literature during 1993. She was named one of the “One Hundred Engineers of the Modern Era” by AIChE in its Centennial Celebration. She led the invention on MicroKit, which received the 2011 Asian Innovation Silver Award from the Wall Street Journal Asia.

Prof Ying was appointed by the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 2006 to serve on the blue-ribbon committee that identified the grand challenges and opportunities for engineering in the 21st century. She serves on the Scientific Advisory Board of Molecular Frontiers, a global think tank that promotes molecular sciences.

Admission to the Panel Discussion is free.
All are welcome. To register, please click here.

For registered participants, please kindly be seated at the Lee Kong Chian Lecture Theatre by 3.45pm on 21 January (Tue).

Directional map can be downloaded here

Printer-friendly | Send to a friend