5th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore 2013 with Nobel Laureates


With strong support from the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and the Ministry of Education, the Institute of Advanced Studies at NTU and Hwa Chong Institution will be jointly organising the 5th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore (ISYF) from 20 to 24 January 2013. Ninety top science students and thirty educators from premier schools all over the world will participate in this 5-day residential programme.

The ISYF aims to create a high-profile platform for budding science talents to network with one another and to dialogue with Nobel Laureates and other eminent scientists.  Through these interactions, the forum will create greater awareness among the youth about the importance of broad-based knowledge, keen curiosity, relentless tenacity and a global outlook in the pursuit of science excellence. Educators will similarly be enriched as the Forum will enhance their pedagogical competencies as well as facilitate the development of close ties and future collaborations. 


Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists

 Professor Artur Ekert

Professor Artur Ekert is one of the pioneers of quantum information science and a co-inventor of quantum cryptography, a technique for secure communication where the security is guaranteed by the laws of physics. Quantum cryptography has become a commercially available technology. He is currently Professor of Quantum Physics at the University of Oxford and Lee Kong Chian Centennial Professor at the National University of Singapore. He is also the founding Director of Singapore's Centre for Quantum Technologies, established in December 2007. He has received numerous awards and has worked with and advised several companies and government agencies.

 Professor Albert Fert

Professor Albert Fert is a French physicist and one of the discoverers of giant magnetoresistance, a finding which brought about a breakthrough in gigabyte hard disks. For his contribution, he was awarded the 2007 Nobel Prize in Physics together with Peter Grünberg. Currently, he is an Emeritus Professor at Université Paris-Sud in Orsay and Scientific Director of a joint laboratory ('Unité mixte de recherche') between the National Scientific Research Centre and Thales Group. 

 Professor Douglas Dean Osheroff

Professor Douglas Dean Osheroff is an American physicist known for his work in experimental condensed matter physics. For his co-discovery of superfluidity in Helium-3, he shared the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physics along with David Lee and Robert C. Richardson. He has been a Professor Emeritus of Physics with Stanford University since 1987. He currently serves on the board of advisors of Scientists and Engineers for America, an organization focused on promoting sound science in American government.

Professor Danny Shechtman

Professor Danny Shechtman is an Israeli scientist and professor of materials science at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. He is also a professor at Iowa State University and a researcher at the United States Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory. He was awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery of quasicrystals.

 Professor Vladimir Voevodsky

Professor Vladimir Voevodsky is a Russian American mathematician. His work in developing a homotopy theory for algebraic varieties and formulating motivic cohomology led to the award of a Fields Medal in 2002. He attended the Moscow State University and received his Ph.D in Mathematics from Harvard University in 1992. Currently he is a full professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey.


Panel Discussion by Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists @ NTU

ISYF13 Banner

In addition to the programmes at Hwa Chong Institution, there will be a panel discussion by the Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists at NTU on 22 January 2013. The theme of the panel discussion is Breaking Through. The panel discussion will be chaired by NTU President, Professor Bertil Andersson.

Please click here for video recording of the session. 


Printer-friendly | Send to a friend