4th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore 2012 with Nobel Laureates


With strong support from the Ministry of Education and the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), the Institute of Advanced Studies @ NTU and Hwa Chong Institution will be organising the 4th International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore from 15 to 19 January 2012. The theme of the 4th Forum is “Nurturing the Scientific Mind”. Ninety top science students and thirty educators from premier schools all over the world will participate in this 5-day residential programme.

The Forum aims to create a high-profile platform for budding science talents to network with one another and to dialogue with Nobel Laureates and eminent scientists. Through these interactions, the Forum will create greater awareness among the youth about the importance of broad-based knowledge, keen curiosity, relentless tenacity and a global outlook in the pursuit of science excellence. Educators will similarly be enriched as the Forum will enhance their pedagogical competencies as well as facilitate the development of close ties and future collaborations.


Nobel Laureates Speakers

Professor Aaron Ciechanover

Professor Aaron Ciechanover is an Israeli biochemist. He was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery with Avram Hershko and Irwin Rose, of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation. As one of Israel's first Nobel Laureates in Science, he is honoured in playing a central role in the history of the State of Israel and in the History of the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology. He is currently a Technion Distinguished Research Professor in the Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute at the Technion. 


Professor Claude Cohen-Tannoudji

Professor Claude Cohen-Tannoudji is a French physicist and a world renowned researcher in the field of quantum optics, the best-known part of his work being the development of techniques to cool and trap atoms with light, for which his was awarded the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with Steven Chu and William Daniel Phillips. He is still an active researcher, working at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris.


Professor Anthony James Leggett

Professor Anthony James Leggett, an English physicist, is widely recognized as a world leader in the theory of low-temperature physics. He was awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics (with V. L. Ginzburg and A. A. Abrikosov) for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids. Professor Leggett was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 2004 "for services to physics". He currently serves as the chief scientist at the Institute for Condensed Matter Theory, a research institute hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Professor Danny Shechtman

Professor Danny Shechtman is an Israeli scientist and professor of materials science at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. He is also a professor at Iowa State University and a researcher at the United States Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory. He was awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery of quasicrystals.


Professor Sydney Brenner

Professor Sydney Brenner is a South African biologist who made significant contributions to the research on genetic code, and other areas of molecular biology. He established the roundworm Caenorhabditis elegans as a model organism for the investigation of developmental biology, and founded the Molecular Sciences Institute in Berkeley California, USA. Professor Brenner was awarded the 2002 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Robert Horvitz and John Sulston, for their discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death.


Professor James Barber FRS

Professor James Barber FRS is Ernst Chain Professor of Biochemistry at Imperial College London. He was awarded the Flintoff Medal by the Royal Society of Chemistry in 2002, the Italgas Prize for Energy and the Environment in 2005, the Biochemical Society Novartis medal and prize in 2006, and the Wheland Medal and Prize from the University of Chicago in 2007. He was also awarded an honorary doctorate of Stockholm University. He has recently been elected President of the International Society of Photosynthesis Research.



Panel Discussion by Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists @ NTU 



In addition to the programmes at Hwa Chong Institution, there will be a panel discussion by the abovementioned Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists at NTU on 17 January 2012.

The theme of the panel discussion is “Science Education in the New Millennium”. The panel discussion will be chaired by NTU President, Professor Bertil Andersson.

Admission is free, please register online: http://www.ntu.edu.sg/ias/PTREG.


Printer-friendly | Send to a friend