3rd International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore 2011 with Nobel Laureates


The 3rd International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore, jointly organized by Hwa Chong Institution and the Institute of Advanced Studies @ NTU, will be held from 11 to 15 January 2011 at the Hwa Chong Institution.


The Forum is supported by the Ministry of Education, Temasek Foundation and A*STAR.  The theme for the 2011 forum is Challenges for a Sustainable World”.  The forum provides a high-profile platform for the top Science students in Asia to engage in intellectual dialogues with the Nobel Laureates and eminent scientists, thus generating greater awareness about the importance of broad-based knowledge, deep passion, and a global mindset in the pursuit of scientific excellence.  It also provides an avenue for the students and educators to network with one another.


Invited Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists

Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman

Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman is an American physicist.  He won the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics together with Richard E. Taylor and Henry W. Kendall for their joint experimental confirmation of the fundamental particles known as quarks. He is an Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a member of the Board of Sponsors of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists. 


Professor Robert Coleman Richardson

Professor Robert Coleman Richardson is an American experimental physicist whose area of research includes sub-millikelvin temperature studies of helium-3. Prof Richardson, along with David Lee and Douglas Osheroff, shared the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physics for their 1972 discovery of the property of superfluidity in helium-3 atoms in the Cornell University Laboratory of Atomic and Solid State Physics.  He is currently the Floyd Newman Professor of Physics Cornell University.  


Professor Vladimir Voevodsky

Professor Vladimir Voevodsky is a Russian mathematician. His work in developing a homotopy theory for algebraic varieties and formulating motivic cohomology led to the award of a Fields Medal in 2002. He is currently a full professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. 



Panel Discussion by Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists at NTU 

In addition to the programs at Hwa Chong Institution,  there will also be a Panel Discussion by Nobel Laureates and Eminent Scientists at NTU on 12 January 2011 at 4pm.  The theme of the Panel Discussion is "Innovation and Speculation in Science and Engineering". 

The panel speakers include:
    Prof Jerome Friedman (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 1990)
    Prof Robert Richardson (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 1996)
    Prof Vladimir Voevodsky (Fields Medalist 2002, Mathematics)
    Prof Kerson Huang (Emeritus Professor of Physics, MIT, and also
                                        IAS Senior Fellow and Nanyang Professor)
    Prof Paul Matsudaira (Head, Department of Biological Sciences, NUS)



Printer-friendly | Send to a friend