2nd International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore 2010 with Nobel Laureates


The 2nd International Science Youth Forum @ Singapore, jointly organized by Hwa Chong Institution and the Institute of Advanced Studies, NTU, will be held from 18 to 22 Jan 2010 at the Hwa Chong Institution.

The event is sponsored by Temasek Foundation and co-sponsored by BASF, with support from the Ministry of Education.  By leveraging on IAS’s excellent international linkages in the academic world, four Nobel Laureates and many other eminent scientists have been invited to share their life experiences and impart their passion in science with the young minds. 

The theme for the 2010 forum is ‘Future Innovations in Science’.  It will provide a high-profile platform for science students from Asia to network with their counterparts.  The forum will also provide an avenue for the students and educators to engage in intellectual dialogues with the Nobel Laureates and eminent scientists, thus generating greater awareness about the importance of broad-based knowledge, deep passion, and a global mindset in the pursuit of scientific excellence. 

Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman

Professor Jerome Isaac Friedman is an American physicist.  He won the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics together with Richard E. Taylor and Henry W. Kendall for their joint experimental confirmation of the fundamental particles known as quarks.  He is an Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a member of the Board of Sponsors of The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, and also the honorary professor at the University of Belgrade's Faculty of Physics. 


Professor David Jonathan Gross

Professor David Jonathan Gross is an American particle physicist and string theorist.  He was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics for his discovery of asymptotic freedom along with Frank Wilczek and David Politzer.  He is the Director and holder of the Frederick W. Gluck Chair in Theoretical Physics at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of California, Santa Barbara.  


Professor Leland H. Hartwell

Professor Leland H. Hartwell is the President and Director of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, Washington.  He won the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his contributions to the understanding of the cell cycle through years of studying yeast, together with Paul Nurse and Tim Hunt. 


Professor Douglas Dean Osheroff

Professor Douglas Dean Osheroff is an American physicist.  He was awarded the 1996 Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of superfluidity in helium-3 along with David Lee and Robert C. Richardson.  He is currently professor of physics and applied physics at Stanford University.  He also serves on the board of advisors of Scientists and Engineers for America, an organization focused on promoting sound science in American government.


Professor Richard J. Roberts

Professor Richard J. Roberts is an English biochemist and molecular biologist. He was awarded the 1993 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Phillip Allen Sharp for the discovery of introns in eukaryotic DNA and the mechanism of gene-splicing.  He is the Research Director of New England Biolabs, Massachusetts, USA, and a leader in the life science industry. 


Professor David Phillips

Professor David Phillips is Professor Emeritus, and Senior Research Investigator in the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London.  He has made many contributions to chemistry, and is the author of over 580 papers in the fields of photochemistry and photophysics.  He has received several awards, including the Royal Society of Chemistry Nyholm Lectureship and Medal in 1994, the Royal Society Michael Faraday Award in 1997, and the University of Nottingham BD Shaw Medal in 2005. 





Printer-friendly | Send to a friend