School on Quantum Information Processing (18 to 29 January 2016, Nanyang Executive Centre)


The IAS and the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) are jointly organizing the School on Quantum Information Processing, which provides broad, solid foundations in modern topics of quantum information science. The subjects covered during the two weeks of the School include:


•  Entanglement, tensor networks, matrix product states

•  Topological quantum computation

•  Coding and error correction

•  Quantum algorithms

•  Physical implementations of quantum computation and information processing

•  Majorana physics


The school is intended predominantly for young scientists (students and researchers). The main purpose of ICTP is to help researchers from developing countries, through a programme of training activities within a framework of international cooperation.


Among the lecturers are 3 Nobel Prize winners, Profs Serge Haroche, Anthony Leggett and Gerard 't Hooft, who will be appointed as the Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors in relation to their visits.



Prof Serge Haroche (Nobel Laureate in Physics 2012)


Serge Haroche.jpg

Prof Serge Haroche is a French physicist who was awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize for Physics jointly with David Wineland for "ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems", a study of the particle of light, the photon.


Since 2001, Prof Haroche is a Professor at the Collège de France and holds the Chair of Quantum Physics. In 1971 he defended his doctoral thesis in physics at the University of Paris VI, his research has been conducted under the direction of Prof Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (Nobel Laureate in Physics 1997).


Prof Anthony Leggett (Nobel Laureate in Physics 2003)


Anthony J Leggett.jpg

Prof Anthony Leggett is widely recognized as a world leader in the theory of low-temperature physics. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2003 for his pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids, which have shaped the theoretical understanding of normal and superfluid helium liquids and other strongly coupled superfluids.


Since around 1980, Prof Leggett has also worked on the low-temperature properties of glasses and high-temperature superconductivity. A member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Leggett was also knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 2004 "for services to physics".


Prof Gerard 't Hooft (Nobel Laureate in Physics 1999)


Gerard 't Hooft, Ed van Rijswijk fotograaf 2015.jpg

Prof Gerard 't Hooft is a Dutch theoretical physicist and professor at Utrecht University, the Netherlands. He shared the 1999 Nobel Prize in Physics with his thesis advisor Martinus J. G. Veltman "for elucidating the quantum structure of electroweak interactions". He was also awarded the Lorentz Medal in 1986 and the Spinozapremie in 1995.


His work concentrates on gauge theory, black holes, quantum gravity and fundamental aspects of quantum mechanics. His contributions to physics include a proof that gauge theories are renormalizable, dimensional regularization, and the holographic principle.

Prof 't Hooft remains active in research on gravity and sub-microscopic black holes. He is also an ambassador for the Mars One project, an attempt to land the first humans on Mars and establish a permanent colony there by 2027.



Printer-friendly | Send to a friend