SPMS Conference 2009
(20 to 22 July 2009)

The SPMS Conference 2009 was jointly organized by IAS and the School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences from 20 to 22 July 2009. The three-day conference featured the following five Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors who shared their latest findings with the participants:

 Poster 22July09


Professor Richard Ernst presented three public lectures titled "Academic responsibility and our future", "Fascinating insights in Chemistry, Biology and Medicine by nuclear Magnetic Resonance and Magnetic Resonance Imaging" as well as "Arts and sciences - A personal perspective of Tibetan painting". He shared with the participants perspectives like the relations between arts and sciences, how to become a successful scientist and scientist's responsibilities. Prof Ernst – Honorary Doctor of the Technical University of Munich and University of Zurich, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1991 for his contributions towards the development of the methodology of high resolution Nuclear Magnetic Resonance spectroscopy.

Professor Rudolph Marcus’s lecture was titled “From ‘On Water’ and Enzyme Catalysis to Single Molecules and Quantum Dots, Theory and Experiment”. Marcus theory, named after him, provides a thermodynamic and kinetic framework for describing one electron outer-sphere electron transfer and reveals information on such common phenomenon as photosynthesis and corrosion. He received the 1992 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions to the theory of electron transfer reactions in chemical system. He is an active professor at Caltech and a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science.

Professor Anthony Leggett gave a lecture on "Some thoughts on the prospects for topological quantum computation" which enthused many students and lecturers. He is widely recognized as a world leader in the theory of low-temperature physics, and his pioneering work on superfluidity was recognized by the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics. He was knighted (Knight Commander) by Queen Elizabeth II in 2004 "for services to physics”.

Professor Jean-Pierre Serre delivered a lecture on “Modular forms: old questions and recent results”. He is a French mathematician in the fields of algebraic geometry, number theory and topology. Prof Serre, at twenty-seven in 1954, is the youngest ever to be awarded the Fields Medal. He was also the first recipient of the Abel Prize in 2003.

Professor Pierre-Louis Lions’ lecture was titled "On Mean Field Games". The participants were presented with Mean Field Games, a new class of mathematical models and problems introduced and studied in collaboration with Jean-Michel Lasry. The lecture infused a lot of thought to the current research model of Partial Differential Equations at NTU. Prof Lions studies the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations, and received the Fields Medal for his mathematical work in 1994. He was the first to give a complete solution to the Boltzmann equation with proof.



Printer-friendly | Send to a friend