Quantum Effects in Biological System Workshop 2014

Quantum Effects in Biological System Workshop 2014, Singapore

2nd to 5th December 2014, NTU

The Quantum Effects in Biological Systems (QuEBS) Workshop 2014 will be held from the 2nd to the 5th of December 2014 at the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.


It is the sixth workshop to be held after the previous successful ones held in Lisbon 2009, Harvard 2010, Ulm 2011, Berkeley 2012 and Vienna 2013. It is the first QuEBS workshop to be held in Asia.  Singapore was chosen so as to engage the fast-growing scientific community in the area. 


The 2014 workshop will cover the most recent developments in this interdisciplinary field and foster exchange of ideas among scientists from different backgrounds and continents. The scientific program of the workshop will feature a variety of topics including – the intriguing effects of quantum coherence in photosynthesis and other complex biological processes, novel developments in optical spectroscopy, single molecule technology, quantum dissipation, coherent transport, quantum information, and computational methods, and emerging examples to demonstrate how the insights learnt from biological systems can guide the optimal design of artificial systems with potential applications to solar cells and chemical sensors.


The QuEBS 2014 is organised by the Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS) at Nanyang Technological University, The College of Science and the Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology (SMART).


The workshop has a good mix of invited (16) and contributed speakers (20) highlighting the recent contributions in the field.  Among the speakers are 2 distinguished Nobel Laureates – Prof Alan J Heeger (Nobel Laureate for Chemistry 2000) and Prof Rudy Marcus (Nobel Laureate for Chemistry 1992), who are appointed as the Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors in relation to their visits. 


Professor Alan J Heeger.jpg

Professor Alan J Heeger (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2000) will be presenting a lecture on "Ultrafast electron transfer over 10-20 nm in 50 fs: A New Phenomeno"   Prof Heeger is currently a professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara.  His research interests include transport in semiconducting polymers and light emission from semiconducting polymers, science and technology of semiconducting and metallic polymers with focus on the gate-induced insulator-to-metal transition in polymer Field Effect Transistors and low cost plastic solar cells, and biosensors for the detection of specific targeted sequences on DNA, the detection of specific proteins and the detection of biologically relevant small molecules.


Prof Heeger is an American Physicist, who won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry along with Prof Alan MacDiarmid and prof Hideki Shirakawa for their discovery and development of conductive polymers". Prof Heeger also conducted a public lecture in conjunction with the QuEBS workshop speaking on, "Creativity, Discovery and Risk --- Nobel Prizes Past and Future".

Professor Rudolf A Marcus.jpg

Professor Rudolf A Marcus (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 1992) will be speaking on 'Single Molecule Intermittent Fluorescence Studies, Quantum Dots, Charge Injection into Surfaces, Electron Transfers and Diffusion'


Professor Rudolph Marcus is a Canadian-born chemist who received the 1992 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his theory of electron transfer. Marcus theory, named after him, provides a thermodynamic and kinetic framework for describing electron transfer reactions in chemical and electrochemical systems as well as in biology.  He is the Noyes Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and currently also a Nanyang Visiting Professor at NTU in Singapore.



Printer-friendly | Send to a friend