Satellite Meeting of the 15th International Photosynthesis Congress - Molecular Basis of Photosynthetic Energy and Electron Transfer with comparison to related Respiratory Systems (18 to 20 August 2010)

The interdisciplinary meeting on photosynthesis was jointly organized by IAS, the School of Biological Sciences and the School of Material Sciences and Engineering at NTU with sponsorship by the Lee Foundation. It served as a satellite meeting to the 15th International Photosynthesis Congress which was held in Beijing the following week. Among the speakers were two Nobel Prize winners, Professor John Walker and Professor Rudolph Marcus. They were appointed as Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors in relation to their visits.




Professor Rudolph Marcus presented a talk titled "What do we learn from single molecule studies of electron transfer processes?” at the Satellite Meeting.  He received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1992 for advancing the theory of electron-transfer reactions in chemical systems. The Marcus theory revealed information on such common phenomenon as photosynthesis and corrosion.

Professor Rudolph Marcus has been awarded numerous additional honors, including the National Medal of Science in 1989 and the Irving Langmair and the Peter Debye Awards of the American Chemical Society in 1978 and 1988.



Professor Sir John Ernest Walker's lecture was titled "Analyzing the catalytic cycle of F1-ATPase".   He is an English chemist who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1997 with the American chemist Paul D. Boyer for their elucidation of the enzymatic mechanism underlying the synthesis of adenosine triphosphate. They also shared the prize with Danish chemist Jens C. Skou for research unrelated to theirs (Discovery of the Na+/K+-ATPase).

He is currently the director of the MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit (formerly the Dunn Human Nutrition Unit) in Cambridge, and a Fellow of Sidney Sussex College.


Printer-friendly | Send to a friend