The 8th OCPA8 Conference on Physics and Education: Looking Forward to Quantum Frontiers and Beyond (23 to 27 June 2014, School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences)

The OCPA conferences began in 1995 and are effective forums to highlight latest breakthroughs and achievements by physicists and astronomers worldwide, promote physics research and teaching, and also to enhance research collaboration among ethnic and non-Chinese scientists from various parts of the world. 

The 2014 conference is the 8th of the series, following successful conferences at Shantou (1995), Taipei (1997), Hong Kong (2000), Shanghai (2004), Taipei (2006), Lanzhou (2009) and Kaohsiung (2011).


Continuing the spirit of past conferences, the OCPA8 will focus on “Looking forward to Quantum Frontiers and Beyond”. A wide range of interdisciplinary topics will be discussed, including astronomy and astrophysics, biophysics, materials science, computational and mathematical physics, photonics, statistical mechanics, quantum computing etc. There will also be roundtable discussions on regional science collaboration and science education with Nobel Laureates and distinguished scientists.


Around 200 distinguished speakers will gather at the OCPA8 conference.  Among the speakers are 2 Nobel Prize winners Professors Chen Ning Yang and Carlio Rubbia who will be appointed as the Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors in relation to their visits.


Professor Chen Ning Yang (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 1957)

Professor Yang Chen Ning 

Prof CN Yang is a Chinese-born American physicist who works on statistical mechanics and particle physics. He and Prof Lee Tsung-dao were awarded the 1957 Nobel prize in physics for their work on parity non-conservation of weak interaction. He is well known for the collaboration with Prof Robert Mills in developing the Yang–Mills theory that forms the basis of our current understanding of particle physics, the Standard Model.

In 1949, he began a period of fruitful collaboration with Nobel Laureate Prof Tsung-Dao Lee at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton. In 1966, he moved to the State University of New York at Stony Brook and became the Albert Einstein Professor of Physics and the first Director of a newly founded Institute for Theoretical Physics which is now known as C. N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics.

Prof Yang visited the Chinese mainland in 1971 for the first time after the thaw in China–US relations, and has subsequently made great efforts to help the Chinese physics community to rebuild the research atmosphere which was destroyed by the radical political movements during the Cultural Revolution. After retiring from Stony Brook, he returned as Honorary Director of Tsinghua University, Beijing, where he is the Huang Jibei – Lu Kaiqun professor at the Center for Advanced Study (CASTU). He also sits on the Board of Adjudicators for the Shaw Prize and is a Distinguished Professor-at-Large at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.


Professor Carlo Rubbia (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 1984)

Professor Carlo Rubbia

Prof Rubbia is an Italian particle physicist and inventor who shared the 1984 Nobel Prize in Physics with Prof Simon van der Meer for work leading to the discovery of the W and Z particles at CERN.  He was appointed to the Senate of Italy as a Senator for Life by President Giorgio Napolitano in August 2013.


His main research activities are on the problem of energy supply for the future, with particular focus on the development of new technologies for renewable energy sources. During his term as President of ENEA, Italy (1999–2005), he has promoted a novel method for concentrating solar power at high temperatures for energy production, known as the Archimede Project, which is presently being developed by industry for commercial use. Prof Rubbia was principal Scientific Adviser of CIEMAT (Spain), a member of the high-level Advisory Group on Climate Change set up by EU's President Barroso in 2007 and of the Board of Trustees at the IMDEA Energy Institute. In 2009 – 2010, he was Special Adviser for Energy to the Secretary General of ECLAC, the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America, based in Santiago (Chile). In June 2010, he was appointed as the Scientific Director of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam (Germany). Asteroid 8398 Rubbia is named in his honour.




Printer-friendly | Send to a friend