Global Young Scientists Summit (GYSS) Panel Discussion at NTU

(19 January 2017, ADM Auditorium)

The Global Young Scientists Summit was started in 2013 with the objective of exciting and engaging young scientists to pursue their scientific dreams through close interaction with distinguished scientists and researchers, and with peers. The Summit provides a platform for conversations on science and research, technology innovation and society, and solutions to global challenges.

The theme of the 2017 panel discussion at NTU is Grand Challenges: Shaping the Future and it will be chaired by NTU President Prof Bertil Andersson.

Among the distinguished speakers are Nobel Laureates Professors Harald zur Hausen and Ada Yonath who will be appointed as Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors.


Prof Harald zur Hausen.jpg

Professor Harald zur Hausen was awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his seminal work on the role of HPV in cervical cancer. He was also awarded the Robert Koch Prize in 1975 for excellence in biomedical sciences, as well as the 2004 German Special Order of Merit with Star. 

His interest in the role of viruses in cancers first began with his postdoctoral studies under the supervision of the renowned husband and wife team of Professors Werner and Gertrude Henle at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Subsequently, he went on to appointments at the University of Würzburg and the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg before settling at the University of Freiburg in 1977. There, he continued to work on HPV as well as other interesting projects such as the identification of a novel adeno-associated virus, AAV-5, from his own skin scrapings.

Prof Ada Yonath.jpg

Professor Ada Yonath is an Israeli crystallographer best known for her pioneering work on the structure of the ribosome. She is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. She received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz for the studies on the structure and function of the ribosome.

Professor Yonath has received many international awards and honours, including the Israel Prize in 2002, the Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 2006, the Albert Einstein World Award of Science in 2008, and the L'Oreal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science in 2008. In 2015, she was awarded honorary degrees from the Medical University of Lodz, De La Salle University in the Philippines and the Joseph Fourier University in France.









Printer-friendly | Send to a friend