Berge Fest Conference: "In celebration of Prof Berge Englert's contributions to Quantum Information, Quantum Optics, and the Foundations of Quantum Mechanics" & 15th Asian Physics Olympiad

Berge Fest Conference (22 to 26 April 2014)

The conference aims to discuss recent work in the broad area of quantum information theory, quantum optics and foundations of quantum mechanics. Applications of these concepts to quantum information, in particular to quantum computing and quantum cryptography, will also be covered. The conference is also held in celebration of Prof Berge Englert’s 60th Birthday to honour his contributions to physics in recent years on the above topics. Prof Englert was American Physical Society Outstanding Referee in 2008, and is presently the Scientific Secretary of the Julian Schwinger Foundation. He is also the Principal Investigator at the Centre for Quantum Technologies. He was recognized for outstanding contributions to theoretical research on quantum coherence, and is well regarded by many scientists including Nobel Laureates.

Modeled after the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO), the APHO is a premier physics competition for pre-university students from Asian countries.  The Asian Physics Olympiad has several purposes: to assist in the preparation of Asian students towards the IPhO; to build a network among the leaders for further collaborative projects in physics education, such as creating physics competitions in their own countries, and to encourage Asian countries to participate in other international physics competitions.

Nobel Laureate Professor Serge Haroche is one of the plenary speakers at the Berge Fest Conference, while Nobel Laureate Prof Roy Glauber is speaking at both the Berge Fest Conference and the 15th APHO.  In relation to their visits, they will be appointed as the IAS Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors.


  Professor Serge Haroche


Professor Serge Haroche (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 2012)

Professor Serge Haroche graduated from Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) and received his doctorate from Paris VI University in 1971 (thesis advisor: Nobel Laureate Prof Claude Cohen-Tannoudji). After a post-doctoral visit to Stanford University in the laboratory of Arthur Schawlow (1972 -73), he became full professor at Paris VI University in 1975, a position he held until 2001, when he was appointed Professor at Collège de France (in the chair of quantum physics). He has also been Maître de Conference at Ecole Polytechique (1974-1984), visiting professor at Harvard (1981), part time professor at Yale University (1984-1993), member of Institut Universitaire de France (1991-2000) and chairman of the ENS Department of Physics (1994-2000). In September 2012, he has been elected “Administrateur du Collège de France” (equivalent to President of this institution).

Professor Serge Haroche’s main research activities have been in quantum optics and quantum information science. He has received many prizes and awards, culminating in the 2012 Nobel Prize in physics, shared with Professor David Wineland. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and a Foreign Member of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States, of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences.

His plenary lecture at the Berge Fest Conference is titled “Controlling photons in cavities”.


  Professor Roy Glauber


Professor Roy Glauber (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 2005)


Professor Roy Jay Glauber is an American theoretical physicist and the Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics at Harvard University.  He was awarded the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics jointly with Professors John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hänsch for their contributions to the quantum theory of optical coherence. His theories are widely used in the field of quantum optics.

He did his undergraduate work at Harvard University. After his sophomore year, he was recruited to work on the Manhattan Project, where (at the age of 18) he was one of the youngest scientists at Los Alamos. His work involved calculating the critical mass for the atom bomb. After two years at Los Alamos, he returned to Harvard, receiving his bachelor's degree in 1946 and his PhD in 1949. 

Professor Glauber has received many honours for his research, including the Albert A. Michelson Medal from the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia (1985),  the Max Born Award from the Optical Society of America (1985), and the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics from the American Physical Society (1996).

Professor Roy Glauber’s plenary lecture is titled ”Some Recollections of Los Alamos -- and the Nuclear Era”.  He is also giving a lecture at the  15th APHO. 






Printer-friendly | Send to a friend