8th Asian Science Camp 2014, Singapore


The Asian Science Camp 2014 (ASC 2014) will be held from 24 to 29 August 2014 at the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.


The ASC is an annual forum which aims to enlighten those science-talented youths through discussion and dialogue with top scholars in the world and to promote the international friendship and cooperation among the best young students of the next generation in Asia. The participating students are those selected from high schools and Universities (1st and 2nd year) who show keen interest and promise in Natural Sciences (including Physics and Chemistry).


The idea of ASC was first mooted in 2005 after the Lindau Science Meeting by Professor Yuan-Tseh Lee, the 1986 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, and Professor Masatoshi Koshiba, the 2002 Nobel Laureate in Physics. Modeled after the Lindau Science Meeting which has been held in Germany for more than half a century, the Asian Science Camp will invite several Nobel Laureates and eminent scientists as key speakers on a wide range of scientific lectures.


ASC 2014, organised by the Institute of Advanced Studies (IAS) at Nanyang Technological University, is the 8th of the series, following successful camps at Taipei (2007), Bali (2008), Tsukuba (2009), Mumbai (2010), Daejeon (2011), Jerusalem (2012) and Tsukuba (2013). The conference will have five Nobel Laureates, Field Medallist and Eminent Scientists who will give lectures, participate in panel discussions and conduct master classes for the delegates. 

Among the speakers are 5 Nobel Laureates, namely Professor Aaron Ciechanover, Professor Makoto Kobayashi, Prof Sydney Brenner, Prof Akira Suzuki and Prof Ada Yonath, as well as the 2002 Field Medallist – Prof Vladimir Voevodsky. They will be appointed as the Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professors in relation to their visits.


Professor Aaron Ciechanover.jpg

Professor Aaron Ciechanover (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2004) will be presenting a lecture on "The personalised Medicine Revolution: Are we going to cure all diseases and at what price?"  He is an Israeli biologist. He won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery with Professors Avram Hershko and Irwin Rose, of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation. As one of Israel's first Nobel Laureates in Science, he is honoured in playing a central role in the history of the State of Israel and in the History of the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology.  He is currently a Technion Distinguished Research Professor in the Ruth and Bruce Rappaport Faculty of Medicine and Research Institute at the Technion.


Prof Ciechanover is a member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, and the United States National Academy of Sciences (Foreign Associate).

Professor Akira Suzuki.jpg

Professor Akira Suzuki (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2010) will be speaking on "Cross-Coupling Reactions of Organoboranes: An easy way for Carbon-Carbon bonding".  Prof Suzuki is a Japanese chemist who first published the Suzuki reaction, the organic reaction of an aryl- or vinyl-boronic acid with an aryl- or vinyl-halide catalyzed by a palladium(0) complex, in 1979. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2010 together with Professors Richard Heck and Ei-ichi Negishi for their research in palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis. 


Prof Suzuki was a professor of Hokkaido University till 1994. After his retirement, he took up positions in other Universities: Okayama University of Science (1994-95) and Kurashiki University (1995-2002).  He is currently an Emeritus Professor at Hokkaido University.

Professor Makoto Kobayashi.jpg

Professor Makoto Kobayashi (Nobel Laureate in Physics, 2008) will present a lecture on "Matter and Anti-Matter".  He is a member of the Advisory Board for the Asian Science Camp.  He received the Nobel Prize in 2008, along with his colleague Toshihide Maskawa, for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature. They worked on explaining CP-violation within the Standard Model of particle physics.  They proposed the so-called Kobayshi-Maskawa model in 1973, making their article on, "CP Violation in the Renormalizable Theory of Weak Interaction", the fourth most cited high energy physics paper of all time as of 2008.


He is currently the executive director of JSPS. He was awarded also the J.J. Sakurai Prize in 1985, the EPS High Energy and Particle Physics Prize in 2007.

Professor Sydney Brenner.jpg

Professor Sydney Brenner (Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, 2002) will be speaking on "The future for Medical Research is Human Biology".  He is a Senior Distinguished Fellow of the Crick-Jacobs Center, is one of the past century's leading pioneers in genetics and molecular biology.  Most recently, Brenner has been studying vertebrate gene and genome evolution. His work in this area has resulted in new ways of analyzing gene sequences, which has developed a new understanding of the evolution of vertebrates.


He is now a Distinguished Professor at The Salk Institute, in La Jolla, California, where he is pioneering a new approach in Computational Biology called the CellMap.

Professor Ada Yonath.jpg Professor Ada Yonath (Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, 2009) is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitz for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the first Israeli woman to win the Nobel Prize out of nine Israeli Nobel laureates, the first woman from the Middle East to win a Nobel prize in the sciences, and the first woman in 45 years to win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

Prof Yonath focuses on the mechanisms underlying protein biosynthesis, by ribosomal crystallography, a research line she pioneered over twenty years ago despite considerable skepticism of the international scientific community.
Professor Vladimir Voevodsky.jpg

Professor Vladimir Voevodsky (Fields Medalist, 2002) will be sharing his "How I became interested in Foundations of Mathematics".  He is a Russian mathematician. His work on the development of a homotopy theory for algebraic varieties and formulation of motivic cohomology gained worldwide recognition. More importantly, his proof for the Milnor conjecture won him the Fields Medal in 2002. 


Currently, Prof Voevodsky is working on new type-theoretic foundations of mathematics which combine ideas from theoretical computer science and homotopy theory and on automated proof verification. In 2012, he co-organized a year-long program called "Univalent Foundations of Mathematics" at the Institute of Advanced Studies, Princeton, New Jersey, where he is working as a professor.  He is a member of the European Academy of Sciences since 2003, and Honorary Professor of the Wuhan University, China, since 2004.



Printer-friendly | Send to a friend