CIPLS 2013

2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Production and Logistics Systems

The management of production and logistics systems in today’s fierce competition environment is a difficult task and has become progressively complex. Major changes in products, processes, technologies, and societies bring along remarkable challenges and increasing market demands. Modelling and optimisation of the complex problems arising in production and logistics systems is of paramount importance in surviving and achieving competitive gains in productivity and quality.
In recent years, the advancements in computer technology have allowed researchers to tackle large-scale problems and to develop and integrate efficient optimisation techniques for solving them. Within this context, CIPLS aims at addressing issues related to the design, planning, control, and continuous improvement of production and logistics systems using computational intelligence, including local search methods, evolutionary algorithms and other nature-inspired optimisation techniques. The intention is to cover various aspects of production from aggregate planning to shop-floor execution systems and modelling, planning and control of logistics systems. Studies incorporating real-world applications are highly encouraged.


Recommended topics include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Production planning and control
  • Flexible manufacturing systems
  • Integrated production system and process design
  • Capacity planning
  • Lot sizing
  • Assembly lines
  • Inventory control
  • Facilities planning and design
  • Transport and distribution planning
  • Vehicle routing and scheduling
  • Multi-modal transport
  • Sustainability and green logistics
  • Logistics network design
  • Decision support systems in production and logistics

Accepted Special Session

Scalable Evolutionary Logistic Planning

Thomas Weise, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China.
Jörg Lässig, University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz, Germany.
Alexandre Devert, University of Science and Technology of China, Suzhou, China
Yi Mei, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China.
(To submit a paper to this session, please select "22s1" as the main research topic)


Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Co-Chairs and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair, Dr S Das.

Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Bülent Çatay, Sabanci University, Turkey
Raymond Chiong, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Patrick Siarry, Université Paris XII Val de Marne, France

Program Committee

Enrique Alba, University of Málaga, Spain

Bernardo Almada-Lobo, University of Porto, Portugal

Panagiotis Angeloudis, Imperial College London, UK

Tolga Bektas, University of Southampton, UK

Christian Bierwirth, University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Héctor Cancela, University of the Republic, Uruguay

Maurice Clerc,, France

Oscar Cordón, European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain

Moussa Diaf, University of Tizi-Ouzou, Algeria

Deniz Türsel Eliiyi, Izmir University of Economics, Turkey

Mourad Fakhfakh, University of Sfax, Tunisia

Martin Grunow, Technical University of Munich, Germany

Richard Hartl, University of Vienna, Austria <>

Florian Jaehn, University of Siegen, Germany

Erhan Kozan, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Joerg Laessig, University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Goerlitz, Germany

Guohua Ma, Wentworth Institute of Technology, USA

Frank Meisel, University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Zbigniew Michalewicz, University of Adelaide, Australia

Arvind Mohais, SolveIT Software Pty Ltd, Australia

Nicolas Monmarché, University of Tours, France

Luc Muyldermans, University of Nottingham, UK

Antonio J Nebro, University of Málaga, Spain

Sylvie Norre, Blaise Pascal University, France

Ceyda Oguz, Koc University, Turkey

Temel Öncan, Galatasaray University, Turkey

Erwin Pesch, University of Siegen, Germany

Henri Pierreval, Clermont University, France

Anna Piwońska, Technical University of Bialystok, Poland

Miguel A Salido, Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain

Guillaume Sandou, Supelec, France

Ruhul A Sarker, University of New South Wales, Australia

Sven Schellenberg, SolveIT Software Pty Ltd, Australia

Claudio Toledo, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Özgür Toy, Turkish Naval Academy, Turkey

Joaquín Bautista Valhondo, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain

Stefan Voß, University of Hamburg, Germany

Thomas Weise, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Rui Zhang, Nanchang University, China