CICAC 2013

2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence for Creativity and Affective Computing

Computational intelligence (CI) techniques, including neural network, fuzzy systems, and evolutionary computation, have shown to be effective for search and optimization problems. Recently, CI gained several promising results and becomes an important tool in Computational Creativity, such as in music, visual art, literature, architecture, and industrial design.The aim of this Symposium organized by the Task Force on Creative Intelligence, IEEE Computational Intelligence Society, is to reflect the most recent advances of CI in Computational Creativity, with the goal to enhance autonomous creative systems as well as human creativity. This Symposium will allow researchers to share experiences and present their new ways for taking advantage of CI techniques in Creativity.

Taking into account emotions (or more generally affects) is currently widely explored to improve the quality of human-machine interaction and to ease the communication with users or potential customers.
Affective or emotional computing covers a wide range of issues, challenges and approaches, both for emotion simulation (in particular for new generations of intelligent agents), emotion elicitation, expression and recognition. The latter is declined along several types of modalities and media data, such as physiological signals, facial expressions, speech, text, images and video. Each of these modalities and media raises specific requirements.
Thus, affective computing raises new challenges for computational intelligence, regarding e.g. computational representations of emotions and affective states, on the basis of psychological models, the architecture of systems modeling and processing these concepts as well as dedicated machine learning techniques appropriate to deal with the specificity of the related data.
The 2013 Workshop on Affective Computational Intelligence aims at gathering researchers from the various disciplines contributing to the domain, to offer a global and comprehensive overview of the current state of the art on this challenging and fast developing field.



Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, CI technologies in the following aspects:

  •  Computational modelling of creativity and creative processes.
  •  Data representations for creative systems.
  •  Algorithmic design in creative intelligence.
  •  Optimisation in creativity.
  •  Development of hardware and software for creative systems.
  •  Evaluation methodologies.
  •  Assistance of human creativity.
  •  Computational aesthetics.
  •  Emotion response.
  •  Human-machine creativity.
  • Generation of art, including Visual Art, Architecture and Design, etc.



  • Theories of emotions from psychology and their application to computer sciences
  • Computational models and architecture for processing emotions and other affective states
  • Multimodal emotional corpora
  • Automatic emotion recognition from physiological signals, facial expressions, body language, speech
  • Emotion mining in texts, images, videos, film, multimedia data
  • Affective interaction with virtual agents and robots



Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Chair and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair, Dr S. Das.

Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Chair.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Chuan-Kang Ting, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan

 Francisco Fernández de Vega,  University of Extremadura, Spain  

 Palle Dahlstedt, University of Gothenburg, Sweden  

Marie-Jeanne Lesot, LIP6 - UPMC, France
Jean-Claude Martin, LIMSI, France
Maria Rifqi, LIP6 - Paris II, France 



  • Program Committee (Provisional)

  • Peter Bentley, University College London, UK

  • Carlos Cotta, Universiy of Malaga, Spain

  • Roberto De Prisco, Università di Salerno, Italy

  • Alan Dorin, Monash University, Australia

  • Anna Jordanous, King's College London, UK

  • Oliver Kramer, Carl von Ossietzky Universität, Germany

  • Penousal Machado, University of Coimbra, Portugal

  • Jon McCormack, Monash University, Australia

  • James McDermott, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

  • Eduardo Miranda, University of Plymouth, UK

    Ong Yew Soon, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

    Kevin Wong, Murdoch University, Australia

    Thierry Artières, LIP6 - UPMC, France
    Thierry Baccino, Université de Paris VIII, France
    Gérard Bailly, GIPSA-lab, University of Grenoble, France
    Christian Becker-Asano, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany
    Nadia Berthouze, University College London, UK
    Ginevra Castellano, University of Birmingham, UK
    Pau-Choo Julia Chung, Smile Lab, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
    Jeff Cohn, University of Pittsburgh, USA
    Ernesto De Luca, Fachhochschule Potsdam, Germany
    Celso de Melo, University of South California, USA
    Marcin Detyniecki, LIP6 - CNRS, France
    Laurence Devillers, University Paris-Sorbonne, France
    Jean-Marc Fellous, University of Arizona, USA
    Hani Hagras, University of Essex, UK
    Robert Houghton, University of Nottingham, UK
    Eyke Hüllermeier, University of Marburg, Germany
    Arvid Kappas, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany
    Kostas Karpouzis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
    Jim Keller, University of Missouri, USA
    Chin-Teng Lin, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
    Christine Lisetti, Florida International University, USA
    Radoslaw Niewiadomski, Telecom Paris Tech, France
    Magalie Ochs, Telecom Paris Tech, France
    Jean-François Omhover, Arts Et Metiers ParisTech, France
    Joseph Orero, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya
    Andrew Ortony, Northwestern University, USA
    Helen Pain, University of Edinburgh, UK
    Catherine Pelachaud, Telecom Paris Tech, France
    Isabella Poggi, University Roma Tre, Italy
    Thierry Pun, University of Geneva, Switzerland
    Rainer Reisenzein, EMA University Greifswald, Germany
    Peter Roelofsma, VUA University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Nicolas Sabouret, LIMSI, France
    Jean-Paul Sansonnet, LIMSI, France
    Charles Tijus, University Paris VIII, France
    Egon L van den Broek, University of Twente, The Netherlands
    Christian Wagner, University of Nottingham, UK
    Chung-Hsien Wu, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
    Dongrui Wu, GE Global Research, USA
    Georgios Yannakakis, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
    Slawomir Zadrozny, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland