Nanyang Technological University


Professor K K Phua Conferred National Academy of Science Fellowship

Professor Phua Kok Khoo, Founding Director of IAS, was conferred the Singapore National Academy of Science (SNAS) Fellowship for his tireless efforts to strengthen scientific research throughout Asia, leadership in promoting international physics education and scholarly exchanges, and enriching the world of research and teaching through the many books, manuscripts and journals published by World Scientific Publishing Co.


The award ceremony was held on 9 May 2014 at the Nanyang Technological University. The new Fellowships were presented by Professor Roy Glauber, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2005, who is the Mallinckrodt Emeritus Professor of Physics at Harvard University. Professor Glauber was conferred the title of SNAS honorary fellow at the same event.


SNAS Fellows are expected to advise the government and other national organisations on various aspects of science and education in Singapore. These Fellows must be excellent researchers in sciences and people who have contributed significantly to the promotion of sciences in Singapore.  Apart from Prof Phua, the other eight newly elected Fellows are:

  • Professor Hardy Chan Sze On, Co-Director of Singapore-Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Alliance
  • Professor Huang Hsing Hua, NUS Emeritus Professor of Chemistry and former NUS Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Professor Lim Hock, Founding Director of Temasek Laboratories and Director of Research Governance and Enablement at NUS
  • Professor Lim Tit Meng, Chief Executive of the Science Centre Singapore and former Vice Dean at the NUS Faculty of Science
  • Professor Ling San, Dean of the College of Science, NTU
  • (Retired) Professor Sim Keng Yeow, former Head of the Department of Chemistry, NUS
  • Professor Sun Yeneng, Professor of Mathematics and Raffles Professor of Social Sciences at NUS
  • Professor Zhu Chengbo, Head of the Department of Mathematics, NUS

Fellows were selected through a rigorous selection process, involving reports from nominators, screening by a selection committee of the candidates' curriculum vitae, and review by the SNAS Council. The SNAS, which was established in 1977, endeavours to promote the advancement of science and technology in Singapore. It is an umbrella organisation which offers a range of programmes and oversees the activities of constituent societies such as the Institute of Physics Singapore, Singapore National Institute of Chemistry, Singapore Institute of Biology, Singapore Mathematical Society and Science Teachers' Association of Singapore.


announce17 June 14

Prof Phua was conferred the SNAS Fellowship by Nobel Laureate Prof Roy Glauber (right).


announce17 June 14

Seven 2014 SNAS Fellows at the conferment: (from left) Prof Sun, Prof Zhu, Prof Lim,
Prof Chan, Prof Huang, Prof Sim and Prof Phua.

© 2012 Nanyang Technological University

CopyrightDisclaimerPrivacy Statement
Reg. No. 200604393R