Nanyang Awards 2009 Recipients

The 2009 Nanyang Awards were presented to 23 deserving recipients on 2 February 2010 at the Nanyang Auditorium. 

Dr Su Guaning, President of Nanyang Technological University presented the certificates and trophies to the award recipients.  A large gathering of faculty, staff and invited students also came to celebrate the occasion.

Our very own students from the NTU Chinese Drum Club kicked off the presentation ceremony with a captivating drum performance, entitled “Xi Qing (喜庆)”.  The performance celebrates the steel resolve shared by the NTU community to strengthen our standing as a research university, as well as signifies a roaring good year ahead as we scale new heights in our pursuit of organization excellence.

At this Nanyang Awards Presentation Ceremony and Faculty & Staff Event celebration, the award recipients and guests were treated to a sumptuous lunch buffet.  They even had the chance to engage in interesting activities like getting decorated with an Air Brush Tattoo, getting a free caricature of themselves or having their names written in rainbow calligraphy.

The Nanyang Award recipients epitomise the pioneering Nantah spirit of our founders who braved great odds to establish our University more than 55 years ago.  Their dedication to achieving excellence will propel the University towards becoming a great global university; one that is distinguished not only by excellence in teaching and research, but also excellence in service to the nation and the global community.



Read NTU President’s Speech
Recipients of Nanyang Awards 2005-2008
Video of Nanyang Awards and 2009 Winners
Photo Gallery

Excellence in Teaching

School of Chemical &
Biomedical Engineering
  School of Civil &
Environmental Engineering
  School of Computer

Assistant Professor
Kwak Sang Kyu


Assistant Professor
Yang Yaowen


Assistant Professor
Vinod Achutavarrier Prasad

School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering   School of Materials
Science & Engineering
School of Mechanical &
Aerospace Engineering

Associate Professor
Mohammed Yakoob Siyal


Associate Professor
Alfred Tok Iing Yoong

Assistant Professor
Sridhar Idapalapati

School of Biological Sciences  

School of Physical &
Mathematical Sciences

School of Physical &
Mathematical Sciences

Associate Professor
Liu Chuan Fa


Dr Tan Geok Choo

Dr Chua Guan Leong

Nanyang Business School   Nanyang Business School   School of Humanities
and Social Sciences

Associate Professor
Ng Eng Juan


Associate Professor
Ng Sok Ling, Sharon


Assistant Professor
Phua Chiew Pheng

School of Humanities and
Social Sciences
Wee Kim Wee School of
Communication Information
National Institute of Education

Associate Professor
Tan Kim Heng

Associate Professor
Cherian George

Ms Lim Seok Lai
(Asian Languages and Cultures Academic Group)

National Institute of Education National Institute of Education

Dr Png Lay Hoon, Jessie
(English Language and Literature Academic Group)

Assistant Professor
Tan Ai-Kiang, Ludwig
(English Language and Literature Academic Group)

Research & Innovation

School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering
Associate Professor Sun Xiaowei
(for excellence in one-dimensional Zinc Oxide nanowire
research with a focus on devices)

School of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Associate Professor Sun Delai, Darren
(for excellence in Titanium Dioxide membrane technology innovation)


Nanyang Business School
Professor Yeo Hian Heng, Gillian

School of Biological Sciences
Professor James P. Tam


OAFA Management Support Team

Humanitarian Work

School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Associate Professor Weining Chu Chang

Share Article