Nanyang Technological University

The Imperial College London picks NTU as first joint PhD programme partner


Ranked among the top ten universities in the world, Imperial College London chose NTU as its first partner for a joint doctoral programme.

Established in 2009, the NTU-Imperial College London Joint PhD Programme marked a first for both Imperial College London and NTU. Under this programme, the universities will offer PhD degrees initially in the subjects of Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering and Chemical Technology, and Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Conducted on a full-time basis over four years, the joint PhD programme will eventually be extended to include all engineering and science disciplines.

Successful candidates will receive a PhD degree awarded under the seals of both NTU and Imperial College London, after spending two years at each institution. Up to 10 students will be accepted from each university every academic year.

Offering a synergistic combination of research resources, including world-class talent and cutting-edge facilities, the programme draws the best students with top faculty as academic supervisors.

"The joint PhD programme with NTU is the first of its kind for Imperial College London and a very exciting development. We expect it to lead to major research collaboration between the two universities," said Prof Richard I Kitney, Director of Imperial College London's Graduate School of Engineering and Physical Sciences and Chairman of the Programme Management Committee.

The NTU-Imperial College London Joint PhD Programme is one of several joint and dual PhD programmes that NTU has launched with leading universities in recent years.  

NTU's other partners in doctoral education include Technische Universität München, Karolinska Institutet, Carnegie Mellon University, Columbia University, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Université de Technologie de Troyes, ParisTech Institute of Technology, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, University of Southampton, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Technische Universität Graz, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (BOKU) and University of London.


Other References: